Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:17 p.m. - 2004-06-06
A World Class Bun Slave
Whoa! The Hillbilly Bunnies have arrived!! YeeeHawwwwww!!!!

Actually, the Hillbilly Bunnies are fairly sedate. I think this is because they are both so chubby they'd be hard put to go into careen. They can barely waddle.

Especially Napkin. She is so big that she actually jiggles when she hops. And she is most definately a food hog. I've been giving them lots of herbs and veggies from the garden, and she's not afraid to try anything, regardless of familiarity. Down the hatch!!

Feisty is far more cautious. He's not sure about raspberries, basil is a mystery he'd rather not explore. Carrot tops may have been on the menu at some point in his life, but he doesn't remember them and doesn't want to get reacquainted. It's better to stay with the familiar.

Like kale. Kale is familiar. I predict Feisty will be eating a lot of kale.

It's too bad Feisty is the picky one, because Napkin is the one who really needs to lose weight. It's almost frightening that Linda told me they were even heavier when they came into foster care!! I'm amazed they don't have significant thealth problems. Obesity in rabbits is such a serious issue.

So a big ol' diet is in order for this pair, including more exercise and no pellets at all. Welcome to the Rabbit Fat Farm!! Atkins for Bunnies!! Yahoo!!

*******************************

Personality wise, they are soooooo sweet. They are easy to pick up (well, it's not like they really have the mobility to struggle very much, with all that extra poundage!) and they loved to be groomed. Napkin has already started shoving her head at me for grooming.

I should explain rabbit politics. Rabbits have hierarchies in their relationships, and one of the ways they show dominance within the hierarchy is by having a grooming order.

Basically the bunny doing the grooming is submissive, and the bunny being groomed is dominant. Mirage and Loki have evolved into a sort of co-dominance between themselves, but, laughably, they still see me as submissive. Every once in awhile they groom my feet, but 99 times out of 100, they're butting their heads against me as if to say "Groom me, Bun Slave!!"

I'm definately a second class citizen around here.

So evidently, Miss Napkin has got the same idea in mind. Looks like I've been designated her Bun Slave, too. Sigh. Just for once I'd like to be the dominant bunny!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!