Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:08 p.m. - 2004-05-16
Salad
I had too much to drink tonight. Can you tell? Heh heh heh.

Bruce's old friend John came into town tonight. He's a union rep for the cameraman's union and is in town because a film is being shot here. Since he had tonight free, we made him dinner and hung out. Or rather, I made dinner and Bruce hung out.

Which is as it should be. They're old friends, they have things to talk about.

Anyway, I realised I really am a pretty terrible cook. I made salmon stew with dill, which is one of the few recipes I can actually count on to be palatable. And thanks to our garden, which is tailored to the tastes of two adorable rabbits, we had the most unbelievable salad.

Really, it was amazing. This is what it had in it (items with a ** were from our garden):

raddichio**

chicory**

endive**

romaine lettuce**

borage flowers**

nasturium leaves and flowers**

marigold flower petals**

salad burnet**

lemon balm**

sorrel (two different kinds)**

avocado

tomato

red onion

mushrooms

spinach**

carrots

And we also had garden strawberries, and the dill for the salmon stew was from the garden as well.

Yum. I love our garden. It feels like it's finally starting to pay off.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!