Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:16 a.m. - 2004-05-14
Pooped
When Bruce and I lived in Boston, we had a list taped to our fridge. It was a list of all the things we figured Satan would make us do when we got to Hell.

The list included such things as processing horseradish, truly one of the world's most hideous tasks, and being a triage assistant at the Harvard Medical Services, which was my current job at the time. However, any job we had on that list pales in comparision to a job I found out about yesterday.

Yes, Folks, being on the "Pooper Trooper Team" is truly, completely, the zenith of my idea of the job from Hell.

We get those packets in the mail that advertise local businesses, and the Pooper Trooper Team had a coupon. At first I couldn't believe it, but it was true. This company sends people to your house, everyday if you want, to scoop your dog's poop from your yard and change your cat's litter boxes.

Gah!! Can you imagine this? Everyday you get up, take a shower, and head out for the Poop Patrol! From nine to five everyday you're on the lookout for.....poop.

Honestly, I can barely deal with my own cat's litter, not to mention the rabbit's. The thought of spending more than ten minutes a day on this just makes me feel queasy!

And who is getting this service?! It costs a very pretty penny! It's $11 a week per dog, $7 a visit per cat for the litter boxes.

And they haul the poop away! So not only do you have to go around all day collecting poop, but you have to drive around with it, too!!

Gah!! Uhhhhhhh!!!! YUCK!!! Oh, I'm sorry, you were trying to eat breakfast while reading this? Oh. Oh. Sorry.

******************************

I'm hitting a stage where I actually like this hospital piece. Even though I feel like I'm drowning in it at this point. And I definately want to do some abstract painting or something really goofy and experimental when it's over!! It's very restricting, working on something so planned out.

It's times like this that I miss art school. I miss that crazy energy of having a whole bunch of people on the same wavelength, to experiment with all these strange processes. That was the one most difficult transition for me when I left school - going from a supportive atmosphere where everyone was an artistic nut case to my studio, where I am for the most part, alone.

And Huntsville has very little in the way of a true art community, since it's mostly science and engineering oriented. There are some nice ladies who paint landscapes, but there is no real art scene.

Sigh. It's times like this I most wish we lived in Birmingham!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!