Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:18 a.m. - 2004-03-01
Restless legs.
I just heard a little "moment of science" blurb on the radio about an ailment called "Restless Legs Syndrome". It was very exciting because I actually have Restless Legs Syndrome!! Yup, at night after I've been laying down for awhile, my legs get this strange feeling, like they are all pent up or claustrophobic under the covers, and I have to keep moving and stretching them.

It used to get really bad, and when I had a sleep study about ten years ago the technician and doctor both commented on how bad it was, and how I probably kept my husband awake with my legs moving around like that.

The reality, of course, was that Bruce snored like a freight train, and he was actually the one keeping me awake, but that's another story.

Anway, the exciting thing is that I've never understood what causes this, and no one has ever been able to explain it to me. Until today!! It is caused by an inability in the brain to take up iron. The iron receptor thingeys don't work!!

So now I know!!

*******************

I haven't really been in the mood to write lately. I've been Thinking Big Thoughts about art and about my career, and, as usual when I Think Big Thoughts, I find myself totally incapable of expressing them.

Maybe someday I'll write some big long treatise in here about what my whole philosophy of art is.

But, um, not today!

I did have a nice weekend, though. Bruce and I went to one of the local nurseries (the one that gives away free cold soda and coffee!) and got a bunch of plants for the section of the jungle that we just cleared out. A bunch of natives - foamflower, columbine, meadowsweet (one of my dad's favorite flowers) and also a lady's mantle and some "Bright Lights" swiss chard.

The swiss chard was for the "Bunny Garden" which I'm hoping will eventually save us about a bazillion dollars in rabbit food bills.

As usual I fell in love with some expensive plants. I went totally gaga for a white flowering Japanese Quince. It would look fabulous in our moss garden!! It was just a little too much money though - $17.95 - and I'm afraid we just don't have that area of the yard prepared for new plants yet. Sigh.

They also had a "Little Richard" azalea which I could have gone for. We have been looking for an azalea, but Bruce has his heart set on some we saw a few months ago at another nursery. They were more like species azaleas, and were named after Confederate generals.

I'm not sure how I feel about having an azalea named after Stonewall Jackson in my backyard, but Bruce thinks it would be fabulous.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!