Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:15 p.m. - 2004-02-27
Sputtering
I know I should have updated more this week, but I just have not felt like wading into the morass of simmering blah blah that is going around in my head these past few days. It seems like everytime I turn around this week I've heard something that has turned me into a sputtering, nasty, cranky, hair-tearing ninny.

It's the Bush administration, folks. They make me sputter.

And right-wing, fundamentalist, our-God-is-better-than-your-God Christians. Yup, they make me sputter, too.

It started out with Education Secretary Rod Paige calling the teacher's union a "terrorist organization". Yes, Folks, because the teacher's union is asking the Bush Administration for funding to implement a series of measures that they are insisting teachers take, the teachers are a bunch of terrorists.

This is so classic George Bush - issue a decree that certain things have to happen and then not give the people involved any support. So Bush gets to look good with his "no Child Left Behind" thing (which is lame to begin with) and the teachers look bad for not implementing it, when they are not being given the resources they need to do so.

And, excuse me? A bunch of people who actually care about seeing that no child gets left behind, and who are willing to push hard to see that this happens, are a bunch of terrorists?

I can't even talk about this I'm so angry. Not only my husband, but a number of other people very dear to me are teachers or former teachers, and I know what an insanely difficult job they have under the best of circumstances.

And all I can say is: Secretary Paige, I would bet serious money that you have had at least one teacher during your life who inspired you like no one else. And HOW DARE YOU insult that teacher by calling his or her union a "terrorist organization"???

Ok, I'm going to stop now. Because I'm about to use some really strong language and, um....get really incoherent!!

But you know, my fantasy is that the NEA will organize all the "terrorists" in its organisation to go, en masse, to the office of Homeland Security and turn themselves in. Yup, I wish every teacher in this whole nation would take themselves to Washington with big signs that say "I care about kids!! YES, I'M A TERRORIST!!!" and descend on the Capitol.

Oh for the days of the Yippies!! We need more monkey warfare!!

*********************

What's a good thing? Domi the Pug is out of surgery!!

It's not too late to give Domi your latte money!! He needs it bad!! The surgery was expensive and he may need chemo!! So go see atomicbuddha and click on the "Domi Donation" button!! Miss Bunny wants you to!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!