Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:45 a.m. - 2004-03-02
Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss
Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss!! And thank you for making my childhood really happy, and for writing the first book I ever read all by myself.

No, it wasn't the Cat In The Hat. It was the little goofy bird one, whose title escapes me. I loved that book! And one night, when my mom was reading it to me, I grabbed the book and started pointing to words I knew. And a couple of minutes later I read the whole book, from start to finish.

I was three years old, and shortly thereafter I graduated to reading Winnie the Pooh and the backs of cereal boxes.

Yup, Dr. Seuss and Captain Kangaroo. Where would I be without them?

*****************************

Zesto and the rabbits have been acting out the Cat In The Hat today, in Dr. Seuss's honour. Yup, Zesto is destroying the house, and the rabbits are pretending to be Thing One and Thing Two.

I think our next rabbits should be named Thing One and Thing Two. Especially if they are angoras.

*****************************

We're having our first torrential rain storm of the spring right now. It's been going on all night, and it got so bad at about 3 am that I actually got up and went outside to check our drain system.

We have a very cool drainage system. It actually goes under the house in a somewhat elaborate piping system. One of the reasons I like the house is that I feel like there is a river running under it, at least sometimes.

I don't know how this effects the house from a fung shui point of view. Any guesses?

Oh, and another sign of spring? Our daffodils in the front yard are blooming!! And so are a couple of the white bell flowers in the woodland garden. The dogwoods are all budded up, and the crocus are passing by.

I did an inventory yesterday, and the only perrenials not coming up are the hostas and some celandine that I was feeling a little shaky about to begin with.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!