Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:18 p.m. - 2004-02-24
Mardi Gras
Happy Mardi Gras, everybody!! Show us your tits!!

Um. Ahem. I'm sorry. I just got carried away!!

North Alabama has just enough Cajuns to be ever so slightly in the grip of Mardi Gras fever. Just enough so you can find King Cakes at Kroger and Microwave Dave is playing lots of Dr. John and Fats Domino and Professor Longhair. I'm not complaining! And there are quite a number of women driving around with plastic beads hanging from the rear view mirror.

I must confess, I'm one of those women. I have several strings of bright blue ones, which I firmly believe keep me from getting in accidents or hitting small animals. I didn't get mine the way all those other girls got theirs, though. I bought them at a stall in the French Market!! I swear I did NOT show anyone my tits!!

I did NOT!!! I SWEAR!!!

*****************************

I bought our King Cake a couple of weeks ago, the same night we went out for Indian food with Wendy and Michael. For those of you who are clueless about King Cakes, they are basically a very stale version of a big cinnamon role, with frosting in grotesque shades of purple, green and gold, the colours of Mardi Gras. Baked inside the cake is a little plastic baby, representing the baby Jesus.

Over dinner, Michael, Wendy, Bruce and I had a discussion about what happens to the person who gets the baby. If they're lucky enough not to choke on it and die, that is.

Michael thought the person who got it had to buy the cake the next year, but Wendy and I shouted him down. We were adamant that whoever got a mouthful of baby was destined instead for fabulous good luck!! We swore up and down it we knew what we were talking about! It made sense, right?

Well, it did until I got home and read the box of the cake I had just bought. There, along with the story of the three wise men, it clearly stated that the person who got the baby....had to buy the next year's cake.

Oops!! Um, sorry Michael!! You were right! Consider this my formal apology!!

And here's a question - why is King Cake a Mardi Gras thing and not an Epiphany thing? I mean, isn't that when those three Wise Guys actually got to the baby Jesus?

***********************

So you wanna' see what's going on in the French Quarter? Well, here's a webcam of Bourbon Street!

Or maybe you'd rather go see Loch Ness instead!!

Or, if you want to see Birmingham's Vulcan statue, the one I'm always babbling about, pick up the latest Smithsonian next time you're at a newstand. he's on page 27. But they don't show his sexy butt!! Damn!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!