Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:28 a.m. - 2003-12-29
Bunny Greetings
Oh my Gawd, I am completely exhausted. And I seem to have developed problems typing, as well as taken on the nasty cold that Bruce had a couple of weeks ago. And my email seems to have punted out during the trip, no doubt from being overloaded by the wonderful photos of Canterbury Cathedral that my cousin John sent me.

My cousins are having yet another family reunion in Leicester this coming year, and John is putting on the heavy pressure for me to go. Thus I am subjected to gorgeous photos of everything English whenever I check my email. And since I haven't checked my email for about two weeks, there are about ten photos in there, all taking up huge amounts of space.

******************************************

Came back from New Hampshire on Saturday. We were supposed to go to Bruce's dad's in Baltimore, but I felt worse and worse and Bruce, taking on the role of prophet of doom, assured me that my stuffed nose, achey body, and sore throat were only the beginning. After several rounds of "well, what the hell should we do?", I let him bundle me in the car and we drove straight home.

Despite his prophecies, I don't feel worse. I don't feel better either. I feel like I'm in some sort of illness stasis. I have to confess, I actually wish it would just get really bad, so I could just get it over with.

*************************************

It was fabulous coming home. I love how the animals greet us. They just go completely berzerk. I wish everyone greeted me with such enthusiasm!!

I realised, through my achey haze, that I always greet them the same way, whether we've been gone for a day or a month. The bunnies come first, because my studio is right inside the front door. The minute we come in, they are glommed onto my leg, begging for affection.

Well, actually they are begging for banana and pineapple, but I like to delude myself that what they really want is me.

"Miss Bunny!! Have you been a goo bunny? Have you been a chewey bunny? Have you been chewing Brodie?"

Brodie is our pet sitter. She always comments on how Miss Bunny loves to chew, and jokes that she's afraid we'll come home some day to find Miss Bunny has been chewing her.

"Did you chew Brodie all up? Did you eat her?!! Oh no!! Miss Bunny ate Brooooooodiiieeeeee!!"

Miss Bunny looks gleeful at the thought of eating Brodie. She's rocking back and forth, making smacking noises. Meanwhile, Loki is frantically trying to climb my leg. He wants to be picked up.

"It's my Monster!! Oooh, what a fabulous little monster!! I missed my little monster! He's my pocket monster!! Yum! Yummy Pocket Monster!!"

The Pocket Monster responds to my affection by biting me hard in the shoulder. Meanwhile, Miss Bunny has chewed through the strap to my Mary Jane's. Consequently the rest of the animal greetings are done with my shoe flapping.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!