Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:50 p.m. - 2003-12-27
Return from New England
A special bulletin from Dr. Bruce--

We're back in circulation after blitzing New England. We even got a whole BALE of feed hay for the rabbits, of a sort that you can't find this far south, at an Agway store in Milford, New Hampshire.

A highlight of the trip for me was spending an afternoon at the Boston University Science & Enginering Library. BU is a rich, private university that can subscribe to a large number of journals electronically, so I was able to download and print some recent literature related to a research project I'm starting. This is a study of when two local species of shiner minnows become reproductively active in the spring, using tissue staining techniques. Suffice it to say, for a real yuck you should interact with your librarian during your literature search for "fish gonads" in a research library. I think she was hugely amused that I apparently drove all the way from Alabama in order to frantically print articles on the maturation of the oocytes (egg cells) of Greek sardines, plaice, etc. ... (Trust me, it's cool!)

Ruthie got home sick with a cold and with a pile of emails, etc., to sort out and answer in the next period of time. If she owes you something, please be patient, she'll get to it eventually, with the rabbits' dispensation.

(P.S. We still haven't seen Return of the King.)


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!