Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:15 p.m. - 2003-12-10
Happy Birthday Dr. Bruce!
Oh my Gawd, who is this adorable child?!! Hint: he turns 50 years old December 11th!!

Why, it's my dear and darling husband, that's who!!

Yes, this is Bruce as a beautiful baby, and tomorrow my favorite guy in the whole world turns 50. Half a century of blessed and glorious madness!

And why is Bruce my favorite guy in the whole world? Well, I'll tell you why!! (Warning: High Sap Factor!)

1. He has the most beautiful brown eyes. If you can get him to take off his glasses, they are a delicious chocolatey brown. Dare I say they are the same deep, chocolately brown as Loki's? Yes, Bruce, your eyes are as fine as a rabbits!!

2. He can converse on anything, from UFO's to endangered fish to the history of the bicycle. I'm never bored at the dinner table.

3. He is endlessly patient. This is an important trait since we live with four rampaging cats and two destructive rabbits.

4. He's cute when he's sick, which he has been the last couple of days. He gets like a little kid and makes snuffly noises and sleeps in his shirt.

5. He always wears black jeans with the cuffs rolled up. He's worn these as long as I've known him. It's a Bruce trademark.

6. He loves his students and they love him. This can be amusing as Huntsville is a small town and we see his students everywhere, from restaurants to Home Depot, and they all have to express their undying appreciation for his teaching. Which makes him squirm. It's very sweet.

7. He has a good collection of 60's underground comics.

8. He has good taste in comics in general. It's one of the things I fell in love with him for.

9. He's a great long distance driver. He never stops to eat or pee.

10. He has endless patience with fruitbats who can't make up their minds in stores.

11. He has a soft spot for injured animals. I can always depend on him to be the driver for my Squirrel Rescue Unit. And Burroughs owes Bruce his life - he never turned away when Burroughs showed up on our doorstep dragging his smashed leg. He's never said no to any of my rescues, no matter how messed up the animal.

12. He loves his fish, more than anything. His whole face lights up when he talks about them. He can take some goofy, seemingly boring little darter and make you feel like it's Elizabeth Taylor in fish drag.

13. He loves long drives in the country, particularly if there might be a stream with fish somewhere.

14. And traveling in general. I've loved living in the South with him because he's up for all kinds of wacky explorations. Who else could I drag to the Towing and Recovery Museum?

15. He has a bizarre and wonderful sense of humour.

16. When he laughs, his whole body shakes and he makes these strange "snee, snee, snee" noises. And he screws his eyes shut. I laugh just looking at him.

17. He'll never cut his hair, but it never seems to go beyond shoulder length. I think it self-regulates.

18. He looks really handsome in chest waders. I'm serious. And this is nothing to scoff at. Most men look like dweebs.

19. Do you want someone who can explain Mendelian genetics or the Krebs Cycle? Bruce can do this. It's great at parties.

20. And I think I've also mentioned how handy he is for explaining the ingredients in cosmetics!

21. Not to mention food additives!

22. Ramones music never fails to make him start bouncing up and down.

23. Once he's decided to do something, he's very gung ho about it. He's not wishy washy after he makes a decision.

24. When I was putting him through graduate school and working two 16 hour shifts on the weekends in a hideous emergency room, he always brought me dinner. Every night I was on, he would show up with food. It got me through a lot of bad days.

25. He's big. I love big guys. Big guys with big brown eyes!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!