Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:40 a.m. - 2003-12-12
Friday Five - Holidays
Totally bored and can't think of anything exciting to write - what's a poor girl to do?

Why, turn to the Friday Five, of course!!

1. Do you enjoy the cold weather and snow for the holidays?

Everyone of my friends who lives in New England will think I have gone off the deep end - but I miss the snow so much living here in Alabama. Not the cold - that I can live without - but the snow? Sigh. I miss snow shoeing, and I miss the total stillness that comes with a snowstorm. It's as close as I ever get to a quiet, zen mind.

When I'm out in the woods with my snow shoes on, it's just me, and the white, and the silence. And snowshoeing is rigorous exercise. Rigorous enough that it's hard to tear the brain away to think about the everyday worries of life. And rigorous enough to build up a good sweat - forget about cold when you're snowshoeing.

I always feel purged after a couple of hours of this. I really miss it. My snowshoes are hung up in the living room here, and I so badly want to use them.

2. WHat is your ideal holiday celebration? How, where, when, and with whom would you celebrate to make things perfect?

I know I sound like a party pooper, but I was raised as an agnostic. Christmas really doesn't mean all that much to me, really honestly. Especially with all the commercialization of it, which I find sickening.

My family does celebrate and give gifts, but it is a very secular thing for us, just a way to appreciate eachother (and occasionally have big grouse fests about eachother.)

This year it looks like I may have something close to my ideal celebration. Donna, Bruce and I will all be in Boston together, and Jay has offered to host us and Seth for dinner. Hopefully a few other old pals will show up. That would be really a dream come true for me, because my little tribe hasn't been in the same place altogether for ages. I would love that!

Basically, I think there shouldn't be just one time of the year when everyone gives presents and shows that they care about eachother. That should happen all the time. Peace on earth and goodwill to men should be a constant.

And shouldn't that be "goodwill to bunnies"? I mean, really!!

3. Do you have holiday traditions?

Ummm....grousing about certain members of my family!!

No, seriously, one thing I love is that my family opens presents on Christmas eve. Because my father's family is from England and evidently that is the tradition he was raised with. As a child this was divine - no hysterical waiting for Christmas morning!

As an adult I find it is more quiet and peaceful that way. Christmas eve is kind of a calm with just my immediate family before the storm of Christmas day with dinner and 20 relatives showing up.

Also, we always have Christmas crackers which is another English thing. Gotta' love those goofy cracker toys, not to mention those paper crowns.

4. Do anything to help the needy?

Hmmm....I do more to help needy animals, to be honest. And I try to help all through the year, not just at Christmas. For humans, we donate to a homeless shelter and I have crocheted mittens and scarves for the homeless. We also add some extra money onto our utility bill each month for a fund Huntsville has for poor people who can't afford their heating bills. It's a really good fund, and all the money goes to the poor, not to administrators.

I know it's goofy, but I also make doll clothes for Toys for Tots. Because if I were a poor kid, I would really love a whole bunch of doll clothes to go with my new doll. Bread and roses, you know? Besides, I always loved playing with dolls as a kid. This is a good exxcuse for me to keep playing with them as an adult!

5. What one gift would you want for yourself?

Another bunny. Seriously, I would love another bunny. Or two. Or five.....


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!