Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:41 p.m. - 2003-04-11
Salad
"I guess I'm always hooooooping that yooooo'll end this reign

But it's my destiny to be the keeeeeeeeng of paaaaaaain!"

Yeah, I always yodel along with Sting when I'm making salad! Especially with the cats sitting at the screen door to the kitchen, howling along because they want dinner.

You know, I should have named all of these cats after South American dictators, the way they rule my life. And seriously, my next rabbit is going to be named Mussolini!

************************************************

Hokay. I'm making a salad because tonight I am forcing myself to go out and be social. We were invited to a fellow faculty members house for dinner and I offered to bring a salad. I figured that even with my less than stellar cooking ability I could probably put some raw vegetables together in an appealing mass. And any leftover vegetable peelings could be given to the "Vegetative Disposal Units", aka, the rabbits. They don't often get the likes of such delicacies as raddichio and mesclun mix, so it's been a happy afternoon for them.

I even added the first harvest from our little garden - some mache! (You'll notice I said the French "mache" rather than the English "corn salad". Oui, I am still harping on this!)

The experience has only been marred by the fact that I can't find my egg tweezer. I suspect that I must have given it away in the big "We're moving 1000 miles and we only have a tiny U Haul please take all our possessions AWAY!!!" hysteria before we moved here from Boston. I probably figured it was a non-essential piece of cooking equipment, which is evidently an accurate assessment since I haven't missed it once in the three and a half years since we've been living here.

Seriously, how often does one tweeze an egg? Only in affluent freakin' America!!!!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!