Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:35 a.m. - 2004-01-09
House Stuff
I've been neglecting you all terribly. I'm so sorry. Sniff.

I decided that, once and for all, I'm going to finish all the little house projects that have been eating at me for months. It's been somewhat more difficult than I thought. Some of these projects are easy, and I've been toodling right along with them.

Others, like reorganizing my studio, are just getting the procrastination treatment.

I did make some wacky beaded flowers for our ugly 60's chandelier, and a wonderful Indian printed denim sofa cover so we no longer have to be embarrassed about having a faded orange cat-clawed sheet on it.

And Bruce and I cleaned out our respective closets and I managed to put all my vintage clothes that I love dearly but am sick to death of into boxes. And, with the help of Atomic Buddha, I may actually get rid of them sometime....soon.

And I bleached everything we had that was white. From my cotton batiste shirts to Bruce's underwear to a much loved but never used Battenberg lace duvet cover. It all went in the washer with a cup of bleach, and came out blindingly white.

That's right folks - our Dr. Bruce now has blindingly white undies.

I'm also realising, as I do all this stuff, that we have no "grand scheme" for this house. I have no vision of how we want it to look when it's "done". The guest room looks fabulous, but that's mainly because I knew immediately how it should look, and we had all the furniture we needed for it when we moved in.

The other rooms are just sort of limping along. Our dining room has a wonderful big old table...but no chairs. Similarly, the library has only a bench. True, it's a wonderful bench, but it doesn't exactly fill the room.

We're going on some trips in the next few months - to Athens, GA, Dauphin Island, and the upper coast of Florida, maybe to Memphis - and I'm hoping we'll get to some groovy antiques stores along the way.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!