Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:24 p.m. - 2003-10-31
Birthday Omens
I've been having a lovely birthday so far. I got a package from Donna (OOOOOHHH! Fabulous skeleton and devil salt and pepper shakers!!) an email from Seth, a hilarious ecard from Atomic Buddha with singing and dancing SQUIRRELS!!!, a call and a book of botanical illustration from Sarah, big ol' greetings from Tater, a call from Wendy and a pumpkin and a book about Nick Drake from Bruce, who keeps trying to buy me other presents even though we are trying to save money (some husbands just don't know when to stop spoiling their wives).

Every year on my birthday I look for weird little events. I consider them omens of what's to come that year. Here's what I noticed this year:

1. The first thing that happened after I woke up was that I saw a hawk flying through our backwoods towards the house next door. I'm taking this to mean that all the problems that have been plaguing me over the last few years are about to fly off out of my life.

2. Right after that I went downstairs and out the window of my studio saw one of the neighborhood cats in a completely addled state in our catnip patch. This is the first time I've ever seen any kitties in there. The poor fellow was definitely in out of his mind ecstasy. Is this a sign that I'm going to have a really ecstatic year, but that I'll have to take a lot of drugs to really get into it?

3. Ok, now this has got to be the weirdest birthday omen EVER. This afternoon I was cleaning up the studio a little bit and noticed a small thin thing crawling across the floor. My first thought was that a stick bug had gotten into the house but upon closer inspection it turned out to be - a skink. What the hey?? I have no idea what this omen is all about!! Should I pretend it was a salamander, which I would associate with Bruce, or with some sort of fiery creative energy, or both?

Any and all interpretations are quite welcome!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!