Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:23 a.m. - 2003-06-25
Shrews and Strawberries
Seth sent me an email yesterday to tell me that I shouldn't let Athena play with shrews.

Did you know that not only are shrews mean, they also have a venomous bite?!! This is serious, folks! They are the only mammal that produces venom!

Well, so much for my tendency to try and pick up anything small, cute and furry.

********************************

Had the second strawberry yesterday!! I could barely contain myself till Bruce came home and then we both had one small bite. There are a few more on the way. I had no real expectations for this first strawberry season (in fact, I've been clipping the buds up till now so the plants can put more energy into their root systems) so anything we get is a happy bonus.

Don't you all love the blow by blow of my gardening adventures? I bet you want to hear all about how I am pegging the peach tree so that the branches are at the proper angles for maximum strength and fruit bearing capacity and how we are mixing in leaf mulch with the blueberries because they like a forest-y kind of soil, not to mention all the fussing over the bramble bushes.

You know, when I was a kid I had this image of myself as growing up to be a sort of hippie farm woman type with some old farm house and a huge garden and fruit trees and lots of animals and weird art all over the place. It's been slowly dawning on me that that is what I've become, more or less.

I mean, I wear somewhat punky clothes and I live in a suburban house, and I only have four cats instead of the fifty or so I had imagined, but heck, everything else is the same!

Someday I must do a ramble about how all the alternative folks should move out of the cities and come and take over the suburbs, but today I'm just not feeling that coherent.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!