Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:37 p.m. - 2003-06-23
More reasons to be cheerful
Every once in awhile I have to remind myself that even though I'm not in some exotic foreign country wearing a red silk dress with a brightly coloured mixed drink in my hand, life is still pretty good all around. So here, for your reading boredom, is another "Reasons To Be Cheerful" entry:

1. Bruce is not running around like a crazy man. The conference he hosted is over, he's not doing any consulting, and he only has his usual summer school classes. I actually get to talk to him on a regular basis! Oooh, it's fabulous! I really like being married when I actually get to see my husband for more than ten minutes a day!!

2. We had our first strawberry from the garden yesterday! I was so thrilled. It was delicious, sweet, flavourful and slightly tart. It was also ruby red all the way through, not white in the center like those nasty air berries you get at the grocers.

I was so childishly excited about it that Bruce asked me if I was going to squash it in the scanner so you could all have a look. You know I actually thought about it. But in the end we couldn't control ourselves and ate it instead.

Trust me, it was gorgeous. And very tasty.

3. My rick rack cactus, Epiphyllum anguliger (that's MR. Epiphyllum anguliger to you!), just bloomed tonight. Urrrg, we took about 20 photos of it because it was so outrageous! It's very similar to my other orchid cacti, but the bloom smells like a passionflower on steroids. You can smell it from the other side of the house. Good Lord, I am a total nutcase for these plants....

4. I saw a very cute little shrew yesterday, outside of our double glass doors. The shrew was trying to drag around a nut that was at least half as big as it was. Athena also saw it and was desperately pleading with me to let her go help the poor little thing. I knew she had hidden motives though, so she stayed inside, making little meeping noises and flicking her tale.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!