Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:12 a.m. - 2003-04-29
Earthquake and my 200th entry!
Hey, I get ready to do my 200th entry and the earth moves!!

Seriously, it is my 200th entry and the earth did move last night. I woke up this morning about 4 am and heard some strange rumbling. I thought maybe another tree was coming down. maybe a very large tree! So I woke up Bruce, which is standard operating procedure when I'm awake at 4 am and think trees are coming down. Don't laugh - this happens with alarming frequency!

He agreed with me that there was an odd noise, and that some pictures seemed to be rattling.

"It feels like an earthquake!" I was very nervous.

"I think it's the wind", Bruce replied.

And then he went back to sleep.

I, however,lay awake, listening to the rattling for a few more minutes. And this morning Bruce very excitedly came running out of the bathroom with shaving cream all over his chin.

"Hey, you were right! It was an earthquake! It was a 4.7!"

I did some research on earthquakes in Alabama this morning. Evidently they are not as uncommon as you would think, and we are on several fault lines.

How joyous! Now, not only do I have to be concerned about tornados, I also have to worry that "the Big One" is on its way!! How does Donna, living in Los Angeles, deal with this?

********************************

In answer to the question I know you are all dying to ask: I don't know if the bunnies were thumping before the earthquake, because they were downstairs. Miss Burma acted like it was no big deal. Aren't earthquakes supposed to make cats nervous?


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!