Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:45 a.m. - 2003-04-28
Overwhelming Jungle Love
Here's a Zen koan for you: If a tree falls in the forest, and only Zesto is there, does it make a noise?

I was out in the yard yesterday, repotting the fifty kazillion plants we just brought back from our greenhouse, when I heard the unmistakable "crack crack crack CRACK SWOOSH!!" of a tree coming down. Not one of the huge oaks, but a smaller tree....somewhere. But I couldn't figure out where! The yard is such a jungle that a tree has come down and I can't find it!!

Dang!! Now that's jungley!!

Unfortunately this incident, combined with finding ant's nests in three of the potted plants, one of which happened to be a fire ant nest, oh joy! set off an amazing and overwhelming frustration with the state of our backyard. I felt completely powerless against its overwhelmingly jungley spirit.

There's only one of me! And I'm only 5'4" and weigh only 117 pounds! How can I ever hope to tame this nightmare that is our back yard?!!

A friend of mine, who is also another animist, told me she thinks it's a sign that the land likes us that it's going out of control. "All the plant spirits are HAPPY!", she beamed at me.

"Yeah, even the poison ivy spirits!", was all I could reply.

*************************************************

I got a google hit the other day for "rabbit bicillin". Oh dear, somebody has an unhappy bunny with Pasteurella. If this person comes back and reads this, please leave a note in my guest book - I'd be happy to talk to you about Mirage's protocol and progress. In short, it's a miracle!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!