Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:20 a.m. - 2003-03-06
Reasons To Be Cheerful
To everyone who was a leetle flipped out yesterday over my rabbit cruelty rave - I have some possibly good news. I just called the District Attorney's office for the case and got a woman who said they have gotten so much reaction they will "probably" upgrade to felony charges! She recorded my city and state so they had a record of where people are calling from. This somewhat restores my faith in human nature.

I say "somewhat" because I asked her if the people were being charged with child abuse for exposing children to animal cruelty, and her response was like, "Ooooh, gee, we never thought about that..." GRRRRRRR!!!!! How do you think children become abusive adults, Lady? They grow up in abusive households!!!! GRRRRRR!!!! Are you just going to leave the kids in this hideous environment?

*********************************************

Ok, now that we've had the rave of the day -

I was thinking yesterday that this diary has been sooooo depressing lately that I'm amazed anybody reads it anymore! Bruce and I were joking that I should do an entry called "Reasons To Be Cheerful!" This comes out of my old written diaries from years ago, when I had some serious health problems and really needed entries entitled "Reasons To Be Cheerful."

I've always loved that song, too. And I love Ian Dury. I always think of a funny story a friend of mine told me, about watching a television show years ago with her father. The show featured Ian Dury in a long segment, and after about ten minutes her father got very disgusted. "I can't watch this any more." he groused. "This guy dances like a cripple."

Kim was floored. "But, Dad, he IS a cripple!"

I guess her father was quite embarrassed.

*********************************************

Ok, so without further ado, here are some reasons to be cheerful:

1. I can't say much about it right now, because it's a big secret (like you're all gonna rush out and tell a million people, uh huh) but it appears that Bruce has won a teaching award. It will be officially announced later in March, so I will officially announce it then! But for now I'm unofficially announcing it cuz I'm dang proud of the guy.

2. I have decided to upgrade to a Gold membership for Diaryland, so that I can post pictures. Yup, gazillions of bunny pictures, folks! I want to make you all physically ill with their hideous cuteness! Be afraid! Be very afraid! And don't ya'll want to know what Low John the Conqueror looks like? Not to mention all our daffodils, Mr. Groundhog, and the T.S. Eliot Memorial Wasteland Garden?

3. Bruce and I are taking a real vacation during spring break. My beautifully crazy and fabulous friend Helen is coming down to celebrate her retirement, and we're going to meet her in Memphis for a few days before coming back here. Helen has the most incredible joie de vivre of anyone I've ever known, and she wants to do the whole Memphis trip to the hilt. We are actually hiring a chauffeur and a 1955 Pink Cadillac to take us around on the first day. Just for a few hours.

Helen had actually wanted to hire the Caddy for an entire day to go out to see the plantation where Muddy Waters worked and all the other intense outer Memphis sites, but it was astronomically expensive. So we're compromising. Hell, Helen is a dear friend who is just retiring after many years at a hideous nursing job, and if she wants to ride around in a pink Caddy for a few hours, dang it, we'll ride around in a pink Caddy for a few hours. You only go this way once.

Besides, it sounds like the most hilarious camp experience in the world, doesn't it?! And I really feel in need of some hilarious camp experiences these days!

And we're going to all the blues clubs, because Helen loves blues, and we'll see the ducks come down the elevator at that famous hotel where they bring the ducks down to the fountain every morning, and we'll see Graceland, of course. Although Bruce has stated that he will stay in the outer gardens of Graceland, thank you very much. He tends to get claustrophobic when around great gobs of people.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!