Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:58 a.m. - 2003-03-05
Another Bunny Emergency!
I read about a case of animal cruelty yesterday that got me totally wild. I could go on and on about it but it would just make the rest of you wild, too. However, if you'd like to get a little wild, you can click on my House Rabbit Society link and then click on the New York animal cruelty case. There are addresses to write the District Attorney and a link to a petition you can sign. The HRS story is not too graphic, (I could handle it, and I'm a hysterical nutcase), the petition is a little more so.

(A Damage Control Warning added at 3:20 p.m.: evidentally I'm more hardened to cruelty cases than I thought, because dear Tater read this HRS story and went wild. Yup, if you have any feelings for animals it will piss the hey out of you. So I'm revising my warning. Even the HRS story is a bit graphic, so please brace yourselves. I guess I have just read and gotten furious at so many of these incidents I sort of have an inner screening for them. I just shake my head and start composing whatever letters of protest are required...

I had really hesitated about putting anything at all about this case in the diary, because I know a lot of people just want some fun reading about cute rabbits, High John the Conqueror, and the occasional freakish insect. And I can understand that, because the world is so awful that we all just need a respite from the awfulness, which I try to provide. Well, when I'm not being morose that is! So I hope you all will forgive my occasional ranting lapse into the awful world. And in this case it really would make a difference if we all went a bit nutty and sent letters to the District Attorney in the case. And remember, folks, that people who abuse animals are also almost always abusers of women and children as well, (and evidentally in this particular case children were exposed to the animal cruelty, which is just horrifying to me) and if there is one thing that gets me even more riled up than animal abuse it's the abuse of women and children.

Besides, think what would happen if we all stopped being apathetic about these things! If we all let ourselves go wild about things like animal and child abuse and the war in Iraq and homelessness and all of the awful things, what would happen? OK, so it would probably be chaos. But wouldn't it be worth a try?!

Man, oh, man, am I on a rant!! I'm mad as hell, and I'm not gonna' take it anymore!! Ahem. Sorry!)

This is actually very important - I've been in touch with the woman who started this petition and she says the New York SPCA is desperate for a public outcry as it appears the perpetrators of this crime are going to get off easy! Unfreaking believeable.

You know, I am so damn sick of this stuff. I am just so sick of all the cruel people in this world. I would really like to take these people and tie them up by their jabows. Grrrrrrr! Me in nasty mood!!

*****************************

Speaking of being cruel to animals, Loki went back to Alvin for an emergency visit last night. Get out the English ambulance sirens! It's a Bunny Emergency!!

Yeah, I know. We just took him to Alvin the day before. But when I went downstairs yesterday morning, I noticed three things. First, he didn't run to see me the way he usually does. Second, his eye looked goopy. Third, his head was tilted ever so slightly to the side. This was bad. Very bad.

Rabbits get a condition known as head tilt, which can be caused by a number of things. No matter what causes it, though, it's very serious and can be difficult to treat. It definately qualifies as a bunny emergency. In Loki's case, I realised there was not the usual symptom of loss of balance, and my instinct was that he had conjunctivitis and was simply favoring his eye. But head tilt is so serious I couldn't take a chance, so last evening off we went to Alvin.

Loki was not cooperative. All he wanted was for me to hold him, when all Alvin wanted was for him to hop around on the floor so he could see his balance and the tilt of his head. Repeatedly we tried to get him to hop around, and repeatedly he ran over to my leg and put his feet up on my knee, begging to be picked up.

It was cute, but dang frustrating.

After the third try, Alvin gave up. "I've seen enough." he smilingly sighed. "Some people's children! So spoiled! But he does have a slight tilt."

He looked at Loki's eye, and found something I hadn't seen - a big corneal abrasion. In fact, two corneal abrasions. So Loki got some antibiotic ointment, and he's going to see the veterinary opthalmologist as well.

What is it with these rabbits and their eyes? Is there something astrological going on?

This morning the little guy is definately feeling better. He greeted me with the big "I'm soooo happy why don't you feed me and hug me and tell me I'm gorgeous all at once" dance, which consists of running around and around my feet so that I have to walk in little shuffling steps to avoid falling over him. Sigh. When that rabbit is happy he's like 100 proof sunshine.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!