Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:47 p.m. - 2007-12-01
An Owl Parka
I had the weirdest dream last night. I dreamed that I was interviewing a band from the 80's who were making a comeback. It wasn't because I was a journalist or a music critic or anything like that - in the dream it was just something I had stumbled upon doing.

So anyway, I had kind of assumed the band was the Cure, but when I went to interview them there was a very cute girl who was their guitarist. I knew the Cure didn't have any cute girls, so I was totally confused. To complicate things, the singer looked like someone I knew in Boston who was kind of a jerk.

I wanted to ask them questions that they hadn't been asked a million times before so I was wracking my brains to think of original questions. I wound up asking them things like: "Do you speak any foreign languages?" while they, in turn were trying to tell me about their new album and what it was like to be on tour again. I was really absolutely clueless about how to interview a rock band.

In the end they gave me their press packet, just as it was really sinking in that this wasn't the Cure, and I had no idea who I had just interviewed. I vainly searched the press packet for a clue, but although their songs were described in great detain there was no indication of any name.

I went home from the interview and showed everything to Bruce, who instantly told me that he knew who the band was. "That's An Owl Parka!" he chirped. "It was a trademark of theirs that they never put any identification on their stuff!"

An Owl Parka? That's going right up there on my list of great bands names, along with the Flying Cups and the Barking Curtains. If only I was a musician.....


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!