Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:15 p.m. - 2007-09-15
Electrical Work
A few entries ago, my D-land friend Tater was talking about how she didn't feel like writing so much anymore. I seem to have hit the same thing. I don't know if it stems from the fact that we have both had kind of a rough time in the last couple of years (she has had a way worse time than me, but still...things here at Hobbstweedle haven't been very happy).

I feel like I have just completely lost my sense of humor and all the absurdities of life are lost on me. It's hard to be upbeat and witty when I feel this somberness that I just can't get out from under.

Sigh. It's not like life is currently bad - in fact, it's going pretty well. I think I just haven't finished my grieving process yet.

Anyway, hopefully the goofy old me will someday return.

*****************************************8

After five years we are finally having some basic electrical work done on the house. One of the electricians who works at Bruce's school offered to help us out. We have light switches that are apparently connected to no functioning lights, weird plugs that come out of the wall and go into mysterious outlets, and some ancient and hideous baseboard heaters that produce no heat. All of this is disappearing as I type.

For the first hour or so I padded around behind Bruce and the electrician as they marveled about all the circa 1959 electrical equipment. Really good workmen always love our house, because it was very well-built, and it has all this weird antique-but-still-completely-functional stuff. They love it.

It makes me feel guilty whenever we want something taken out or changed. It may be the last time they get to see a mercury switch actually in use!!

This electrician actually noticed our light switch covers. They are antiques and are known as the "Sierra Series" Our house came with a ton of them, and I've found more at the Habitat For Humanity ReStore. I had suspected they were worth something....to somebody.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!