Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:46 p.m. - 2005-09-03
Hurricane links
I have come out of my non-updating stupor to a) tell you some good places to donate if you are concerned about katrina's animal victims and b) give my little two cent rant on the idiocy of our so-called administration.

So:

a) If you are concerned about Katrina's animal victims (and what one of my readers isn't?) I have some info for you. The rabbit society's educator's list has been buzzing with relief groups info, and from what I can tell the following groups are probably doing the most. Instead of spouting about how wonderful they are while not really delivering. Sadly there is a lot of that:

www.noahswish.org (I can't seem to get my links to work...sorry!) Noah's Wish, who, as I understand it, have been set up in Slidell, LA since a day or so after the hurricane struck. You can read more at their website.

www.bestfriends.org Best Friends Animal Sanctuary - Although primarily an animal sanctuary in Utah, they are doing disaster relief work for Katrina.

There is also the Emergency Animal Rescue Service, a division of United Animal Nations.

And, if you live in the South, please think about calling your local shelter to ask if they have gotten hurricane victims animals. Even here in Huntspatch the shelter has gotten nine cats so far from disaster victims. The shelters will be needing extra resources to handle the extra animals, so if you can't decide where to send your money....you might want to send it to your local shelter.

*****************************************

And here is my rant about the administration, in particular what's his name, the head of FEMA:

Did you all catch when he was asked why things were falling apart, and he answered something to the effect that FEMA's usual strategy was to direct deposit relief funds into people's bank accounts....but, now, gee, there were no bank accounts!! They couldn't help people because they couldn't just give them money and make it go away!!

I almost blew a gasket when I heard this. If I could have strangled this guy I would have. The whole point of a disaster is that it's....a disaster!! Surprise!! Daily life is completely disrupted!! THERE ARE NO BANK ACCOUNTS, MR. FEMA!!!

The first thing you learn when trying to do disaster planning is not to expect to have access to any money!! What in the good Lord's name were these people thinking!?!!

I am so totally disgusted, I cannot even say how disgusted I am without using some very horrible words....You know, the kind of words that are represented in comic strips by the characters &%$%##!!!

**************************************

I'm just heartbroken about New Orleans, and also about Biloxi, which was a beautiful place with one of my favorite museums, the George Ohr Museum. I have no idea how they fared in the storm, but I am assuming there is now good news...

*****************************************

And in yet more distressing news, we lost our foster bunny Snowflake this week.

I can't even talk about it, because I'll just cry. She died during spay surgery, which is not uncommon, unfortunately. I had a terrible feeling the night before, and took lots of photos of her and even a little video.

She had the most beautiful white fur, and the most amazing eyelashes, and I was so looking forward to finding her a wonderful home. Not to be.

Sigh. I'm in the business of having my heart broken on a regular basis.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!