Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:45 p.m. - 2005-06-13
James Brown loves animals
Did you know James Brown has a gig working at the Huntsvegas Animal Shelter?

I went to visit a shelter bunny today. Who, by the way, is very adorable and has a formidable case of earmites. But that's another story. While I was cleaning his cage I put him in a small exercise pen on the floor, with his litterbox and some veggies.

He was hopping around with a big piece of endive hanging out of his mouth when the door wanged open, and the spitting image of James Brown walked in.

I couldn't help it. I just had to stare.

He was a small man, but other than that, he looked EXACTLY like James Brown. Except he was wearing the uniform blue shelter scrubs, and had a mop in his hand.

"You that rabbit lady?" he asked I nodded. He turned around and left.

Did my staring offend him? Nope. He had gone off to get me a pair of latex gloves to wear while cleaning the bunny cage. I decided not to enlighten him that I don't bother with these sorts of formalities and put them on. It was nice of him, and I really didn't want him to think we rabbit folks are used to wallowing in filth.

Noooooo, not me!! I never wallow in filth!!

Besides, I was so in awe of his James Brown-ness. I even had the fleeting thought that maybe James Brown had gotten in trouble while passing through Alabama and was working at the shelter as some kind of public service sentence.

And then the truly wierd happened. He went up to the pen and leaned over to pet the bunny.

"You got some lettuce there, Bunny? You is some bad bunny!! You'se a BAAAAAAD bunny, with your lettuce!!"

It was all I could do not to say "Yeah, he's baaad! He's Superbad!! He's a Sex Machine!!! Uh!!"


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!