Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:41 a.m. - 2005-02-15
Dad with pneumonia
The phone rang at 6 am this morning. It was my niece. She was calling to tell me that my Dad was hospitalised early this morning with pneumonia.

He is 78 years old, and he has never been in good health. It is scaring the bejeezus out of me.

Felicia told me the basics. He and my mother have both been sick, but last night my father got pretty bad. He rufused to go to the hospital though, as, like me, he is tired of his illnesses and tired of dealing with medical stuff.

A few hours later he got up to go to the bathroom and collapsed.

I know, there is a lesson in here somewhere. maybe after I'm done being freaked out, I'll figure out what it is.

He went to the hospital by ambulance and is being kept for observation. Felicia assured me he would be ok, and I know Felicia well enough to trust that she's not just jiving me. She's a good kid, and she would tell me to come home if she thought I ought to.

I also talked to my mother a few minutes ago. I won't go into detail, but I have been having all these issues with my mother stemming from all kinds of junk from my childhood and way beyond. She is dealing with my Dad's illness in a classic "Mom" way - which basically means that this is really all about her and not him.

Sigh. I am so trying to practice patience, understanding and compassion right now. If I can manage this, I will be instantly elevated to sainthood. Pass the ambrosia, please!!

*******************************

My coping mechanism? I have mustered all my energy and I'm cleaning the house.

Bruce has a belief that spring starts here on February 10th, and indeed, the daffodils in the front yard are blooming. It will be in the 70's today, and I'm having the faintest glimmer of spring energy. So why not do the spring cleaning?

****************

And the Morgan report?

Morgan and Sammy met eachother this morning - through the bars of their pens, of course.

It was instant rabbit insanity. If the bars hadn't been in between them, I'm sure we would have been in the emergency room ourselves.

It was a funny lesson in rabbit fighting styles, though. Sammy gets low to the ground and growls. Morgan makes these amazing leaping/charging moves. She looks, honestly, like a Muppet practicing kung fu.

I had this little thought in the back of my head about maybe adopting both of them and bonding them. After seeing this performance, though, I won't be entertaining that idea!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!