Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:16 a.m. - 2005-02-11
Resolution
I don't know if I'm happy to say this or not, but the person I was having a major problem with the other day has resigned from the rabbit group I work with. And another person who has also given us problems and who happens to be this person's mother, has also resigned.

I don't know if this is a good thing or not, but it turns out other people do. Evidentally everyone has been having problems with them, and my pushing an issue that everyone is upset about is evidentally just the catalyst.

They were leaving anyway. I just pushed them out the door.

What disturbs me is that I was being as really nice and polite as I could. I was trying so hard to put things in a positive manner and be supportive even though I wanted to murder someone. Is it possible I was a total bitch?

Southerners are so into politeness that it is very hard to know how they will interpret things. Stuff that Northerners would think twice about is interpreted as being pushy down here.

is saying something like: "Personally, I would like myself and my fellow Educators to be well-trained, confident, and as willing to step up to the plate for me as I am willing to step up to the plate for them." a really rude thing to say?

It's grammatically wacky, but...rude? I don't know!!

Sigh.

I just hope this is over. It is the last thing I needed on top of everything else. And I would just like to get back to helping rabbits and...taking my heavy doses of non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs! Jeeeez!!

**********************

Speaking of helping rabbits, I think I am about to get my heart broken.

A bunny has come into foster care from the B'ham shelter due to medical problems. It turns out she has an abcess problem similar to Mirage's. I've been asked to foster her as the treatment is intense, prolonged and complicated, and since I've been through it before it was thought I would be the best person to take care of her.

The problem is that it has gone into her ear canal. From there it could travel so easily into her brain. Alvin has quite frankly told us he prognosis is very guarded. He is not optimistic.

And she has a lousy history. She was found wandering loose and turned into the shelter. She was there for a month and then turned over to us. All the stress of these things could have triggered this.

And she is very skittish, so the treatments I do may upset her even more. My plan? I am going to spoil this baby rotten. Whether she lives or dies, she will have everything she has ever wanted for whatever time she has left.

It's made me appreciate one thing - I have control over how I treat my illness. No matter how rotten I feel, I can choose to see a doctor or not, I can choose to take meds or not, I can choose to make healthier choices or not. I can't control this illness, but I can at least control what I do about it.

This thought has also been sparked by reading forty-plus's diary in the last couple of days, about her son's girlfriend whose parents are clueless about taking care of her.

I hope I can make the right choices about this bunny. Her name is Morgan. Please send some little healing vibes to her, will you? We will pick her up tomorrow.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!