Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:44 p.m. - 2005-01-20
Rabbit Introductions
Over the weekend we moved Sam's pen over to it's permanent spot. It's halfway in my studio, and halfway in the dining room.

The part that is halfway in the dining room is carefully positioned so that no one has to look at Sammy's litter box while they eat. The part that's in the studio is carefully partitioned with painted plywood so Mirage and Loki won't be bothered by Sammy's presence.

Those bunnies are territorial critters, y'know.

The funny thing though, is that I actually don't think Loki and Mirage are territorial critters. They are so old now (at least 10 and 11) that I guess all the hormonal, territorial, mine-mine-mine instincts have just plumb run out.

Besides, I don't think either of them has even seen another bunny for years, except at last year's Bunny party. I'm not sure they'd know what to do with another rabbit.

They sure don't know what to do with Sam, although they are very curious. I find them sniffing around the plywood barrier, and once in awhile I see Miss Bunny's huge ears come up over the plywood. She's not big enough to see over it, but she's trying.

This morning she had a different strategy altogether. As I was eating breakfast I saw a movement out of the corner of my eye, and looked over. There was Mirage, bouncing straight up and down, not unlike a flea.

She was trying to see over the plywood. I swear I could hear "Boing, boing, boing!!" noises.

I may remove the wood temporarily this weekend, just to see what they do. If the reaction isn't fireworks I may leave it off permanently. Sam could probably benefit from seeing some of his own kind, and Loki and Mirage would definately benefit from knowing they aren't the only rabbits on the planet. It might make them just a tiny tad less spoiled.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!