Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:29 p.m. - 2005-01-11
Rearranging and Ginny
What can I say except that for the last few days I've been totally enjoying the wonderful phenomenon known as "Alabama Winter".

It was 70 degrees outside today. It was beautiful and joyous and I loved it.

True, it is predicted that we'll go back to 40 and 50 degree temperatures in a couple of days, but this week's respite has been so amazing. It's the perfect weather to sit outside with a cup of tea and bask in the warm air. Just a few days of this, and I feel like I can get through the next month till the daffodils bloom.

They are already pushing up shoots. The tulips are up, too, and the frittilaria. The mahonia is blooming and attracting bees like crazy, and quite a number of other perennials are starting to wake up.

Every day I go out and walk around the property and do the inventory - what's coming to life, what is still asleep. It's my little centering exercise.

***********************

I've been making friends with our newest foster bunny, Ginny.

Ginny is a big, white New Zealand. And I do mean big - at least ten pounds of bossy bunny. We've started calling her "Comrade Ginny" because, with her personality, she could easily be in charge of a revolution. God help us.

When I go in the room, she jumps on her baby stool, stands on her hind legs, and barks. the barking is to let me know that I'm in her territory, and food better be forthcoming or I can just leave, thank you very much. I have to admit, I think this is hilarious, so I've been encouraging it by giving her treats.

Most of the things I do for her are met by little barking noises. If I give her food, she grabs it and barks. If I clean her litter box, she puts her ears back and barks. Fresh hay? Thrown in the air, to the accompaniment of joyous barking. She's a hoot!

She also has the most expressive face of any rabbit I've ever met. She seems to have extra control over her cheeks and can suck each of them in separately. She can also furrow her forehead, giving her a worried look on occasion. She can also look right pissed off. I'll have to try and get some photos.

***************************

The electrical upgrading and furniture moving extravaganza is finally over in the dining area, and has now progressed to my studio. It's exciting!!

I pulled myself together this weekend enough that Bruce could help me move the tables and shelving around in the studio. I also splurged ($14!! I am the last of the big spenders!!) on a "Shelfing System" at Target, which actually seems sturdy!! I painted a couple of my really beat up tables and cupboards and folding chairs a sunny yellow, which goes nicely with the darker yellow of the walls.

Everything is coordinated - it's either yellow or white!! The reason I'm particularly excited about this is because I find this colour scheme much less distracting than when every piece of furniture was a different colour, most of them looking pretty dingy.

And because of the new arrangement of the tables it feels spacious! So much more floor space! Much better fung shui!!

Now I just have to put everything away, but I'll do that over the next few days. Man, it looks really good in there!!

Loki thought so, too. This morning while I was eating breakfast he was doing the most amazing happy bunny dance - literally flinging himself across the room. Pretty good for an old guy with arthritis!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!