Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:16 p.m. - 2005-01-07
Huntspatch needs a coffee house.
I just got back from the local Starbucks. One thing I hate about Huntspatch is that we have no good coffeehouses, the kind where you can buy a simple cup of latte and then spend the next six hours writing your First Big Novel.

We do have a pathetic little coffee house down in trendy Five Points, but it's ridiculously expensive, has no atmosphere, and furthermore, it looks like they religiously clean it with a toothbrush every other day. In my humble opinion, a good coffee house should look just a tad...unkempt around the edges.

If the weather was still lovely I would just go hang out in my "personal coffeehouse", ie: the picnic table on our back patio. But it's now in the 50's, and too cold to sit outside. I needed to write a letter for the rabbit group, and the house is still a disaster from electrical/repainting/moving everything around activity. It was either sit on the floor, or go to Starbucks.

Starbucks is warmer, and I can't serve myself a latte at home.

I found myself having trouble writing there, though. First of all, it's in the local Barnes and Noble, and I am way too distracted by books, and post-Christmas 50% off sales.

Second of all, my subject matter for this letter is somewhat unclear. Our national rabbit group was supposed to be sponsoring a month of adopting rabbits from shelters, along with a couple of other national groups who have sponsored this month in the past (notice I am not naming names because I do not want to get Googled for this!). I

It now appears as though everyone has backed out. It could be just our little Alabama group that is going to go ahead with it! I asked one of the other board members (Oh, I don't think I ever mentioned this - I'm now on the Board of the rabbit rescue group. I'm the Director. Aren't you SO IMPRESSED!!??) why the largest animal welfare group in the country had backed out, and she seemed to think it was because there were too many different types of animals and they couldn't do a month for every one of them.

"Besides, it might interfere with "National Adopt a Blind One-Legged Siamese Cat Month" in October!"

I think this particular Board Member might be getting jaded.

So anyway, I spent a fair amount of time wandering through the books and magazines at Starbucks, and finally settled down to write. I think I have it blocked out. If I can get it typed out on the computer it'll probably fall in to place.

*********************************

Came home to find a letter in the mail from our insurance company. It was jaw dropping.

They recently had our house inspected. Instead of the replacement value being $200,000, which is what we had it insured for, they estimate it has a $358,000 replacement value.

Veritably I say to ye: WHAT THE HEY?!!!!

I mean, seriously!!! I cannot believe this!! I thought $200,000 was a bit high!! I mean, it isn't like we have marble countertops or anything!!

I had a nice talk with the insurance lady and she is going to send me a copy of the inspection. The scary thing is, my friend Helen's house burned down a few years ago and she went through total hell during the rebuilding process, and one of the problems was that she was $10,000 underinsured. So I don't dare really take a chance.

But $358,000?!!! Oh. My. Gawd.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!