Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:08 p.m. - 2004-12-19
New Silverware
Wow. I feel like I became a grown up today!!

Every once in awhile I feel like this, and it's usually because I buy something I think a real grown up should have. Today Bruce and I went to Target and bought a set of silverware.

Well, really it was a set of stainless steelware.

For years we have had three forks, one of which has bent tines, one good knife, four terrible flimsy knives, and six spoons - four of which have been run through the garbage disposal and have nasty sharp edges.

We've just sort of dealt with this because I was under the impression that silverware was either extremely cheesy or extremely expensive, and either way I just couldn't deal with it. It was the most pleasant surprise when I was wandering around Target the other day and found a set that was neither cheesy nor expensive.

Aren't you all excited, too? I bet you are!! I bet you all were just rooting for me to grow up and buy a set of silverware!!

And that's exactly what I did! I dragged Bruce back there today and we bought that set!! And came home and put it away very neatly in the silverware drawer.

And being the goob that I am, I keep going over to the drawer and gazing at it lovingly!! Spoons that don't cut my teeth!! A full set of serving spoons!! Forks! FORKS!! Knives you can actually spread peanut butter with and they don't bend!!

And steak knives you could cut an acorn squash with!! (I am, after all, a vegetarian!!)

********************

I also got a yoga video. My lupus flare up lingers on. It has stopped scaring me, but it refuses to go away, so I have decided to take some steps towards a healthy lifestyle.

Heh, heh, heh. If you knew me you'd be snickering, too.

Just how unhealthy my lifestyle is can be seen by the food log I started keeping two days ago, in an attempt to figure out what foods might be triggering my persistent migraines. Want to know what I ate today?

A pancake at 11 am. A piece of pizza at 5 pm. A banana about 5 minutes ago (9 pm), that I shared with the bunnies.

And I don't feel hungry. I eat like this every day. Except in the summer when I add a humongous salad to the middle of the day. And then I wonder why I look like a cadaverous midget.

I would say I have a way to go with this healthy lifestyle thing.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!