Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:22 a.m. - 2004-12-16
Dark underbelly of marriage
Ya'll think Bruce and I have the world's happiest marriage, right? We never argue, we share the same political views, we're committed to fixing up our house and land, we have the same love for small furry animals with large ears.

We're perfect right? We're the couple that give others hope that a perfect marriage exists!!

It's time to burst the bubble and dish the dirt. Ninety nine percent of the time, we are the perfect couple. Today I'm feeling the leftover one percent.

Bruce has done something that really irks me, even though, I must confess, it also makes me laugh. In his penny pinching thriftiness, he decided that we didn't need two lightbulbs in the laundry room ceiling fixture. he decided we could get by with one.

"Because how often are we in there? And it's not like we're living in there!!"

It's dark as a cave.

Sorry Honey, but I'm in there A LOT. And I may not be living in there, but I am checking to see if our clothes are really clean, if the soap has rinsed out, if the dye job that I'm working on has come to colour. All of these things are very difficult to do in a cave like atmosphere!! I feel like I'm doing laundry for Osama Bin Laden!

I have many cat-like qualities, but an ability to see in the dark is not one of them!

I have tried to replace the bulb, but let's just say I'm vertically challenged, even with a stepladder. So I'm at the mercy of the Big Guy.

When he comes home tonight, I'm not going to bother him about it. He has to be at school till 9 p.m. giving a final exam, and the last thing he needs is a greeting from me, a menacing look on my face, tapping my foot and holding a lightbulb.

But tomorrow morning before he goes to work? The lightbulb will be waiting on the breakfast table.

So there you have it folks - the dark underbelly of my marriage!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!