Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:12 p.m. - 2004-11-18
Paint fumes and big fat jerks
Well, tonight I have come to the startling realization that my brain on paint fumes is even more incoherent than my brain on regular fresh air.

I didn't think it possible.

Much of this week has been spent getting the foster bunnies room ready for the big painting of the floor. This has taken twice as long as it reasonably should have because I'm still sick. I still have the same terrible illness that I came down with the day after Day of the Dead. It has been two weeks, and it's still endlessly hanging around!!

It's made getting anything done nearly impossible. Unless you consider laying on the sofa whining and watching videos getting anything done.

With Bruce's help, however, I have managed to get the foster bunnies into the bathrooms. Napkin and Feisty are in the little yellow bathroom, and Babs and Snookie are in the bigger blue bathroom. Since all four of them are terrified of the toilet flushing, I've had to make many trips to the upstairs bathroom, which is the only one currently rabbit-free.

After two days of slogging about, I finally put the first coat of paint on the floor tonight. It looks fantastic!! It's light blue paint, and actually almost matches the walls of that room. One more coat tomorrow, and we can have the bathrooms to ourselves again.

Sigh. The house renovation lurches forward.....

***********************

And in the "What a JERK!!!" department:

A couple of years ago I sent my cousin some information on our family history. I don't know him very well, but a long time ago at a family reunion he told me he was interested in it, so I sent it along. I've sent him a couple of updates since them and I always get little thank you notes back.

Ok, so a couple of days ago my parents got a letter from my aunt, whom they hardly ever hear from. She is also this cousin's aunt. In her letter, she went on and on about how my cousin had sent her a lot of information on the family history, about how he had been doing such a lot of research, and then she went on to list a bunch of items that he had sent her, like my uncle's death certificate.

All of those things were from what I had sent him!! He hasn't done any research at all - he's sending her the work I did (not to mention my second cousins, John and Thomas, who've been doing our genealogy far longer than I have) and claiming it as his own!!

What an obnoxious slimey jerk!! I'm sure he thinks that we have so little contact with Aunt Shirley that we'd never find out! Grrrrr!!

It's possible there has been a misunderstanding, but I doubt it. My father's family is full of really weird and jerky people, and this is just one more example.

So today I wrote the most diplomatic letter I could to my cousin. It basically said "It's possible there has been a misunderstanding. But otherwise you are a jerk." And I mailed it.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!