Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:35 p.m. - 2004-11-10
It's cold. Too cold.
It's that incredibly depressing time of year again.

The time of year that I start freezing to death.

Yes, even here in Alabama it is possible to freeze to death. Of course it is in the 60's outside - but inside our house?

Let's just say our house was insulated to keep heat out, as all good Southern houses should be.

It's great in the summer. I hardly ever turn on the air conditioning and sit around smugly thinking about how energy efficient our house is and how wonderful it is that it retains the cool air.

In the winter? I have three layers and a scarf on right now. And this isn't even winter - it's barely even fall here in the South.

Last winter was abyssmal. I felt like I was slogging through cold molasses with a frozen nose from Decemeber through early February. We finally bought a small space heater, and I spent all of January huddled in front of it.

I don't know what will get me through this winter. Lots of hot chocolate laced with whiskey!!

************************

I did spend sometime outside yesterday. I went out there to get warm!! I worked in one of the little gardens that we have in the yard, weeding and putting in an edging of bricks. I got about halfway through it and it looks so great.

I have been working so hard on art stuff since early spring that I feel like I missed an entire season of gardening. I feel like I missed an entire season of a lot of things, actually! I'm realising the last few days how much stuff there is to be done around the house - rooms to be painted and pictures to frame and hang and curtains to be made, etc, etc.

Not only that, but there are letters that have been waiting months to be answered, and, my current project, doll clothes.

Every year for more years than I want to think about, I have said I was going to make doll clothes for the local Toys for Tots campaign. Because honestly, what good is donating a doll if there are no clothes to go with it? Isn't half the fun of having a doll dressing it up in all kinds of clothes?

Seriously, when I was a kid one of my favorite presents I ever got was a huge box of doll clothes that my Aunt marcia had made for my Tressy dolls.

You remember Tressy, right? If you pushed a button in her stomach, and pulled on her hair, it all came out in a huge ponytail that you could fix in to a bun or a braid or a B52!! She was like Barbie, only she had this insane retractable hair!!

Anyway, I loved those clothes my aunt made me, and I've decided this is the year!! The year I make a gigundous number of doll clothes and drop them off so the Toys for Tots people can give away some clothes with all those dolls.

I'm doing Barbie sized clothes, and Cabbage Patch clothes. I noticed the other day they are still selling Cabbage Patch Kids so I assume little kids still get these dolls for Christmas? Anybody familiar with little kids toy fads want to advise me on this?


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!