Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:53 a.m. - 2004-11-03
I'm leaving the country.
Ok, I try not to get too heavy in this diary, and I try to stay away from discussing religion and politics.

And sex! I try to stay away from big sex discussions!

But I'm going to break with my own special version of a gag order to talk about....no, not about a big hot, horny night, but about how I feel about Bush being re-elected.

You know that saying: America - Love It or Leave It?

Well, right now I would be very happy to pack my bags and go. I am really, really seriously hating this country.

What kind of freakin' country has a completely screwed up economy, environmental degradation, ridiculous gaps between rich and poor people, a terrible education system in many places, and yet, one of the key, deciding issues of this election was....

Gay marriage.

I'm sorry, but people are literally homeless and starving here. I know so many people whose jobs have either moved to another country, or they are just waiting for that to happen. I feel so guilty whenever I talk to 95% of my friends because Bruce's job is.....somewhat vaguely secure, and almost everyone I know is in a terrible and precarious position.

Not to mention that the gallery that I love so much, and am on the Board of Directors of, is about to go belly up because of the economy. Despite the fact that we just put on an amazing show which drew the community together incredibly.

But do the millions of conservative Christians who made the difference care about community?

No, they care that two people who love each other who happen to be the same sex would maybe get the same benefits of marriage as everyone else in this country.

Pardon my language, but what a bunch of stupid f**ckers.

I'm sorry, I need to go wipe the froth off my mouth. And the vomit as well.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!