Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:48 p.m. - 2004-10-16
Stages of Art
Ok, so you know another way that I know I'm a "real" artist now? Because I have gotten to a point where I'm all too familiar with the whole cycle of putting together a large piece or a show. There are definately stages that these things go through, which correspond with certain emotional wah wahs that I have.

It's totally predictable at this point.

Like, right now I am in the "When this is over, I am going to (insert activity that I have never in my life wanted to do before but now it's all I can think about.) Just today I was thinking "When this day of the Dead thing is over, I want to go to an Oriental market and buy lots of spiffy canned goods from China with really fun, colourful labels and put them in my can cupboard so I'll have really exotic food to look at when I open the can closet door!!"

And all day that has been all I can think about. Chinese canned food in my canned food closet.

Huh?

When I was doing the big hospital commission I woke up one day and all I could think about was how I wanted to go to the local library and spend an entire day reading foreign fashion magazines. Of course, I haven't done that yet, but it was highly distracting when I was two thirds of the way through that piece.

Of course this stage is better than the stage I hit last week, when I spent a whole day crying off and on. That stage actually happens intermittently through every show and every large piece I ever do.

Yup, art makes me cry.

And it's infinately better than the stage I am doomed to hit this coming week, where I feel totally panic stricken and every waking moment I have to remind myself to breathe. It's totally predictable. No matter how well things are going, I get to a point when things are really wrapping up and I panic. I can barely think straight.

Tracy's been sending me really wonderful emails that have a very slight hint of hysteria to them, so I think she's hitting a similar stage herself.

I'm sure this coming week's entries are going to be highly enjoyable. Snort.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!