Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:14 p.m. - 2004-10-13
50 more tons of papier mache, please!!
I've been out in the garage working on papier mache stuff for Day of the Dead. It's fast becoming the Day of the Living, Freaking Dead as I struggle to get all this stuff together, covering myself with glue and newspaper in the process.

I just put together a "Mexican Devil". Actually I guess since he was made by me he's not really Mexican. I guess he must be an American Devil. I'm especially proud of his horns, which are made of egg carton cups and rolls of cardboard.

I've also got the armature together for a skeleton. The ribs are made of a plastic container that held donuts - it has perfect little ribs. The hips are half of a take out meal clamshell, and the leg and arm bones are paper towel tubes with packing peanuts strategically placed on the ends.

To all my good friends who have saved their trash for me all these months - Thank you!! I just love your bags of garbage!!

My favorite of all these things is a plastic cake box in the shape of a heart. I think it will become some hip bones. Or maybe I'll make it into a big sacred heart!!

And can I just say that the New York Times is the best newspaper for doing papier mache with? I think it must be printed on really cheap ass paper, because it isn't stiff like the Birmingham News.

Probably they print the copies for NEw York and New England on better paper, and they send the cheap ass stuff to us. I can just imagine the people who make the printing decisions. "Yeah, send the ones on cheap ass paper to Alabama! Them Southerners probably don't know how to read anyway!!"

Thank you New York Times! For once I appreciate your yucky Southern stereotypes, as I soak your travel section in glue and slather it onto my Mexican devils rear end!!

*********************************

Diaryland buddies - have you ever been happy to see that someone has delisted you?

I realised this morning that I was delisted by an old friend of my ex-friend Simon. She had continued to read my diary over the last few months, and it made me uncomfortable. Partly because it meant I couldn't really talk about my feelings toward Simon and partly because...I just couldn't figure out why she would stay around.

Just call me paranoid, but I couldn't help but wonder if she was relaying my life to Simon, who had stopped reading.

Anyway, I didn't want to hurt her feelings - she's a nice person - but I also had this vague feeling that I wished she would just go away. I guess since this diary is now locked, she has decided to do just that.

Whew.

And I know it's ridiculous, but I still feel like there are things about my old friends in Beantown that I would like to just have out with in here and get off my chest. There is something cathartic and healing in writing about instances where people you cared about hurt you.

So maybe now that the diary is locked and I'm pretty sure Jane won't be back (If I ever unlock I wouldn't want her to see this) I'll just do a long raving entry about the Christmas party where Ruth and Bruce were the hick taxi drivers from that backwards state where everyone talks like Gomer Pile and they don't have Vietnamese food even though about 15% of the population is Vietnamese and no one could be bothered to talk to us because we were so obviously uncool.

I really need to get it off my chest! Brace yourselves!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!