Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:19 p.m. - 2004-10-13
Birfday list
I just got a letter to the effect that a doll of mine was selected for a traveling show a few months ago. Evidently she has been traveling all over the state of Alabama and I had no idea. She will finish up her trip this month with a stint at the State House in Montgomery.

And she'll get to meet the Guvner, at a reception on the 27th.

I doubt if I will get to meet the Guvner, though. The idea of traveling to Montgomery on a Wednesday afternoon for a five o'clock reception, and then, even worse, driving back home (it's about a three hour drive) makes me want to collapse.

I realise that I've come to a sort of interesting landmark in my art career. There used to be a time, long ago, when I thought I would consider myself a "real" artist when I had work in a group show.

Then I thought I'd be a "real" artist when I had a solo show, even at a restaurant or library. Then, after that, I used to think that I would consider myself a "real" artist when I had had a show at a "real" gallery.

Then, when all that had happened, I thought I wouldn't be "real" until I'd had my work pictured in a magazine. Well, how about the cover of a magazine? That happened a couple of years ago.

It didn't work. Unlike the Velveteen Rabbit, I never seemed to become "real".

Today, however, I think I have finally hit the "real" status. When I've come to a point where I no longer obsessively go to the reception for every show I'm in, I think that says something about my self-confidence as an artist.

I no longer have to prove to myself that the work is really hanging on the wall. I don't have to scrutinise every patrons reaction to my work, to see if they are judging it badly.

It's become a normal fact of my life. apparently, I actually am a "real" artist. I do my work, it goes out to galleries, and sometimes it sells. No neurosis needed. End of story.

I guess that makes me the Velveteen Artist!

******************

My birthday is coming up! Bruce asked me last night what I wanted. Of course I was ready with a listy list!!

I want (in no particular order):

1. Burt's Bees Fig lipstick

2. A Screamin' Jay Hawkins CD - Everything I have of his is on vinyl, and we currently have no turntable.

3. Ditto Dr. John. My tapes are all wearing out.

4. A super delux "High Back" corner litter box!! The perfect present for the girl with two very large New Zealand rabbits who insist on peeing over the side of their litter box!!

Yeah, I want a LITTER BOX for my birthday! You got a problem with that?!!!

5. Indian Food, but Patty says she's taking care of that!

6. A large specialty pot for African Violets. I have a kohleria (same family, same culture) that needs one.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!