Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:36 p.m. - 2004-10-08
Weekend Update
You know, I really think I'm going to keep this diary locked....forever!! Because I'm realising that I like having a locked diary!!

This was always meant to be my own personal record of my life, not entertainment for the googling hordes. If I keep it locked, I don't even have to worry about my spelling.

Heh, heh, heh...

******************

It's been a busy week. Dare I say I've been a busy bunny!!

Last Saturday was our bunny group's rabbit care workshop. My topic was "disaster planning". Fresh out of Hurricane Ivan, I had almost everything I needed for the table. It still was a mind bending amount of work, though.

Not without its rewards, though. I had a great day hanging out with all kinds of rabbit nuts, er, I mean, enthusiasts. One of our group's members came up from Florida, and she's someone I've always felt a connection to. We're both Northerners, and we both have that wacky, straight shooting, "Let's just call a duck a duck" Northern sensibility.

Sigh. Sometimes, in this sea of overly polite Southerners, I really miss that Northern "tell it like it is" spark!

And Alvin was there. I finally got to meet his wife, and their dog, a Golden Retriever, who is a therapy dog.

I certainly felt her therapeutic influence. man, I could've snuggled that sweet girl all day!

My favorite part of the workshop?

Well, there were two. The first was watching our fostering director, Linda, showing a small girl and her mother how to trance a rabbit. She worked with Mark, who is Napkin and Feisty's father. He is eight or nine years old, and just a sweetheart of a bunny.

And Linda is a sweetheart of a person. Watching her gently rocking and stroking him until he was upside down on her lap, in happy, peaceful, bunny bliss, just about made me well up with tears.

And the second thing? Well, that just about made me well up, too.

About halfway through the workshop a man came in carrying a cage with a big, lop eared bunny in it. He was followed by his brother, pushing their elderly mother in a wheelchair. Both men were...geez, I'm not sure what the current correct term is, but they were ...let's say mentally challenged?

A lot of the people in our group knew them, because the older brother, the one carrying their bunny, works at an area shelter. They obviously loved their lop, and they seemed to be having a good time socializing.

A few minutes after they arrived Lee Anne came over to me. "You have to see this!" she said.

We tiptoed to a vantage point where we could see the trio without it being obvious we were staring. What Lee Anne wanted to point out was the mother, obviously very ill, holding the lop to her chest. She had her face buried in the bunny's back, and she was gently scratching in between her ears.

Bunny and Mom both looked totally peaceful. I confess. I got gooey. It really just made me cry.

There are therapy dogs....and then there are therapy bunnies.

*************************************

And you know what else makes me teary? Watching Snookums and Babs interacting with eachother this past week. I've had to keep her in a cage in the center of their pen so that he doesn't groom out her stitches, and I've only be able to let her out when I'm there to supervise. Poor Snookie is obviously really missing her. He sleeps right next to her cage, grooms her through the wires, and does his amazing happy bunny dance when she's let out.

It's quite a dance. 360 degree spins in the air, sideways leaps, and wild head shaking. He's just sooo happy. And she responds in kind, so for a few minutes I have wildly ecstatic whirling dervish rabbits!

Wow. I wish people reacted like that when they saw eachother!! I want a brother like that! I'm jealous!!

**************

Sunday was a work day for the Day of the Dead show. More papier mache!! Hooray!

Quite a few more people came. I particularly loved Tracy's friend Allie, who told me the story of her grandmother, who was a Lithuanian mail order bride!!

The rest of the week has been divided between more papier mache, marigold garlands, more papier mache, paper cuts of skeletons, more papier mache, taking Feisty and Babs to get their stitches out, more papier mache, and some embroidered devil and skeleton dolls.

Bruce and I were watching a 1950's horror movie a few years ago. At one point in the film, a man was caught in a rockslide.

"Nooooooo! Not the fake rocks!!" yelled Bruce. "He's getting covered with 50 tons of paper mache!!!"

I think by the end of this show that's what I'll feel like. Covered with 50 tons of papier mache!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!