Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:31 a.m. - 2004-09-27
World Rabbit Wrestling Federation
Well, last night was the inauguration of the World Rabbit Wrestling Federation!! Yes, the WRWF started off with a bang - a tag team match between two brother-sister teams!! In one corner, we had the Naughty Napkin and her brother, the aptly named Feisty!! In the other corner, newcomers Bad Babs and Snarly Snookums!! It was a fight to delight even the most hardened of rabbit wrestling fans!!

Ok, folks, seriously. Somehow the door to Babs and Snookie's X pen got left open for a few minutes last night. And rabbits being the territorial critters that they are, the inevitable happened - to the tune of 10 stitiches for Feisty and six for Babs. Napkin got a bite wound on her urethra (OUCH!) and I think Snookie decided to flee in terror, as he appears unharmed.

I would feel like an absolutely terrible foster mom, except that I know of two other big rabbit fights this weekend. On Friday, I got a call from our friends L. and J. to go look at a wound one of their rabbits had gotten. And Linda told me when I talked to her yesterday that two of the Florida bunnies got in a scuffle and one of them had about 20 stitches.

Is something going on astrologically that I maybe should know about?

They all appear chastened this morning. I spent the night in the guest room so I could get up and check on them without waking Bruce. He's been sick with a sore throat / laringitis thing. After spending the night at the Rabbit Emergency Room, all he needed was to have me jumping up every two hours to check on the rabbit scene.

And my advice about Rabbit Emergency Rooms? If you ever have to take a foster bunny in, make sure you mention that he is a foster bunny, in the care of an organised rescue group! Because, if you do, they may decide to be very nice to you!

Like, they charged the full price for Babs, but didn't charge for Feisty's exam or anesthesia, pain medication or Baytril. And they didn't charge a thing for Napkin! That's about $210 discount!

Kinda' restores my faith in human nature!

***********************

On a happier note, we are teaching Sammy to beg for treats. I must say he's an apt pupil! After only a week, he's learned to come right up to us and get on his hind legs and bob up and down for banana.

He'll be a force to be reckoned with! I predict lots of banana in this guy's future. It's too cute to be resisted.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!