Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:06 a.m. - 2004-09-16
Hurricane Ivan
Don't expect a coherent entry because I don't feel very coherent right now. We're about to experience a hurricane.

In fact, we are already experiencing a hurricane. It's very windy (as in "trees leaning over" type windy) and a strange, drizzly rain. This is just the very outer edges of it though. The frightening thing is that this hurricane is so huge that we are getting this stuff and it's still about an hour south of Birmingham.

You know what is scary about living here? The weather technology is so good they can actually track things like tornadoes and hurricanes almost literally right down to the street. And they can predict how fast they get where they're going. It's like waiting for a very unwelcome guest to arrive.

I just called Linda in Birmingham, to see if she and all the foster bunnies were ok. They are in much more serious trouble than we are, as Ivan will probably still be a category 1 when it gets to them. In an hour. How ominous.

She also said that the Pensacola rescue group had contacted her. They had evacuated with ten foster rabbits and were looking for shelter. Linda arranged with Alvin for the bunnies to stay at his clinic till the storm is over, and then they will come into foster care with us till Pensacola is back on its feet. So we may be hosting a couple of buns from Florida for a few weeks.

They've predicted it will be only a tropical storm by the time it gets to us, but still we could have 6 to 12 inches of rain and tornadoes. They have also told us that if the power goes out it wil most likely stay out for days or weeks.

I have about 50 extra batteries.

The cats are in the dining room where there are no windows to be broken, and I have all the carriers out.

The only one I'm really concerned about is Burma. She is still too feral for us to easily get her in a carrier and she is upstairs. During storms I've noticed she tends to head for the bottom of the stairwell, which is a pretty safe place. I have to resign myself to her temperment and hope she'll be ok.

The bunnies seem unconcerned at this point, although Mirage did thump a couple of times this morning. I'm predicting Snookums is also a weather predictor - he was looking distinctly nervous when I fed him this morning. A few slices of banana and his world looked much better though.

Bruce is at UAH, but he's headed home. At first the school said they weren't going to cancel and I was furious. But the cancellation just came over the radio so I guess the administration came to its senses. I mean, DUH! It's a freakin' hurricane!!

Ok, I'm gonna' go now and recheck all my hurricane supplies....


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!