Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:20 p.m. - 2004-09-16
More Ivan
"You say tornado, and I say tomato...."

Can I just say that I really hate severe weather? Call it hurricanes, call it tornadoes, call it a plain ol' dang thunderstorm. I hate it all. I really do.

Today I experienced the joys of hurricane Ivan. I also experienced the joys of climbing on top of my car while Bruce held my legs so I could prune some of the branches snagging around our phone line.

I did this in a high wind with a drizzly rain.

Did I ever mention that Tracy has a bunch of goats who climb on top of her truck? The roof of her truck is all caved in from goats playing "King of the Truck"

I now have something in common with Tracy's goats.

And I got to experience worrying about all my friends who live South of here, who got the hurricane much worse than we did. And our beautiful Dauphin Island, which had the bejeezus blasted out of it.

And I got to experience huge trees bending almost completely over, and then springing back up, again and again.

And, halfway through the afternoon, our power went off. So I got experience sitting in a big ol' chair with Bruce, watching the storm updates on our tiny, battery powered TV.

Miss Bunny slept through the whole thing, except when she was begging for food. I took this as a sign there was nothing really dangerous out there. She would have been thumping herself silly.

So needless to say, we are pretty much ok now. I think. I guess. I'll tell ya tomorrow morning, ok?


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!