Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:33 p.m. - 2004-08-28
Tooth clipping
I'm happy to say that the invincible Miss Bunny is alive and well and will live to chew another day.

We took her to see Dr. Stephanie yesterday. Dr. S. took one look at her looooong medical history, and jumped ship. So Alvin saw her after all.

But not before he had shown us a dozen baby turtles he had just hatched out, and given us a couple of night blooming cereus plants he'd grown from seed. I'm not sure which he was more excited about.

As I had kind of guessed, Miss Bunny was having tooth problems. Since she has no top teeth on one side, courtesy of her Pasteurella infection, her bottom tooth had grown up into the roof of her mouth. This is somewhat serious because her Pasteurella weakened her palette, and it's possible the whole thing is now reinfected.

So Miss Bunny is back on a four month course of bicillin injections. And she had to have her teeth clipped, which of course involved anesthesia. Linda from the rabbit group was there with some of the foster bunnies, so I had a hand to hold while Miss Bunny twitched herself asleep. At one point she was so spazzed I thought her eye was going to fall out or something.

Man, I so hate watching animals get anesthetized. It�s just gut-wrenching to me.

She was cute after she fell asleep though. Alvin had her mouth held open with a strange expansion device, and her big front teeth were adorable. And her huge ears kind of fell off to the sides of her head, and her big ol� feet were sort of splayed out. It�s the most relaxed I�ve ever seen her.

She woke up fast though. And she spent last night making weird lip smacking noises, like she was trying to figure out where the rest of her teeth went.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!