Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:14 p.m. - 2004-08-24
Mutual Grooming session
I just had the most lovely little interaction with Miss Bunny.

Miss Bunny is getting old, Folks. There's no getting around it. And so today, when I noticed she was drinking a lot of water, I got concerned. It's probably because she's also been eating a lot more dry food than usual, but still, it's enough to make me ill at ease.

At one point when she was at the water dish I went over and crouched down next to her. I wanted to hear if she was breathing strangely, or if I could detect anything else.

And I just wanted to be next to her for awhile, especially if she wasn't feeling well.

She stopped drinking and went into the rabbit loaf position. The two of us sat next to eachother for awhile, and I closed my eyes and thought about how much I really love Miss Bunny.

Miss Bunny must have been thinking the same thing about me. To my surprise, I heard some snuffling around my eyebrow, and then a very energetic little rabbit tongue started working over the area around my eye.

I think I've mentioned before that, in rabbit terms, I am subservient to Loki and Miss Bunny. I never get groomed, I am always the one doing the grooming. So to have Mirage's tongue slurping around my eyelashes was an honour I never expected to receive.

After a few minutes she stopped, and shoved her head under my nose. "Groom me now!" was the obvious communication.

So I "groomed" her - I put my lips on her forehead and made kissing movements. She stretched out and gently ground her teeth - a sign of bunny happiness.

A few minutes of this, and she reached up to groom me again. We went back and forth for quite some time.

You know, it's nice to be a member of somebunny's warren. Little moments like these make all the litter box cleaning worth it.

*****************************

It's felt like a sad sort of day. I've been in Alabama long enough that I can recognise the start of fall here. It's very different from fall in New England (more like the second half of the never-ending summer, to be honest) but it is enough to make me get all the bittersweet feelings I used to get with fall up North.

I put on all my Sandy Denny CD's and got teary.

And I did some more "purging" of too long held onto stuff. Photographs this time, of people long gone, and not so long gone.

(Don't worry Bruce - I kept all the one's I thought you would want....)

I found one picture I want to keep though. It's a photo of me, taken when I was about 21. In front of the Boston Public Library is a large statue of the Muse of Art. She is sitting in a chair, with a paintbrush and a palette.

In this picture, I'm standing next to her, tucked under the arm that holds the paintbrush.

I want to get this photo enlarged. It's a nice reminder of where I want to spend the rest of my life...


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!