Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:16 p.m. - 2004-08-04
Work and Pink Eyes
Ok, first of all - The most Frequently Asked Question about Babs and Snookums is, of course, about their eye colour. People are really skeeved out that they have pink eyes!!

Well, first of all, let me point out that they do not, actually, have pink eyes. I was surprised to see that their eyes are actually a kind of light lavender. And they have very long eyelashes, which are truly enchanting, and kind of diminish the weird, other worldly effect.

Secondly, can I just say that I have a fondness for beings that look like they came from another planet? This is why passionflowers are, hands down, my favorite flower. And armadillos are one of my favorite animals. I really love the idea that if there is a God, he has some sense of humour.

I mean, armadillos?

So pink/lavender eyed rabbits are right up my alley.

Besides, if you could meet these two, you'd get right past the eye skeeviness, no problem. Because, true to the New Zealie reputation, they are the most loving and laid back bunnies I've ever met. All they want is some loving and a box full of hay.

I'm in love. I hope they don't get adopted any time soon....

****************************

I've been having a few good work days. No sign of artist's block! I've been working on papier mache skeletons for the day of the dead show. My first one is just about finished, except that it's missing it's head. I have to get some more plastillina to model that off.

I worked on it out in the driveway the last few days, so the neighbors were treated to the headless skelly lying on it's back, knees up, looking like it was about to give birth. It looked like the set for a bad B movie - "Suburbia After the Apocalypse."

And other than that I've been embroidering skelly dolls. It's helped that I've had good music. In addition to WWOZ, I've also been listening to the Technicolour Web of Sound. If ya'll like 60's music besides what they play on Clear Channel oldies stations I highly recommend it. Besides playing lots of Love, Buffalo Springfield, Brooklyn Bridge, Traffic, The Creation, etc, etc, they also play old commercials from the 60's. So freakin' funny!!

Today I actually couldn't listen to it because I was laughing so hard. First they played Syd Barrett's "Honey Bunny" song, which always makes me giggle. It really does sound like it was written and sung by a rabbit. Then to top it off they played a commercialfor Falstaff Beer featuring - CREAM!!!

Yes, Cream, one of my favorite old 60's bands, did a commercial for FALSTAFF BEER!! A beer so bad that you actually have to be already drunk to drink it!! It's hilarious!!

I can't help but think that Ginger Baker must just groan when he thinks about it. "Wow, man, Disraeli Gears was such a fab album!! But that Falstaff beer commercial - Where were our heads??!!!"

*******************************

And you know how you know when your a hopeless animal lover? When you get invited to a birthday party for a parrot!!

My friend Mia is having a birthday party for her African Grey next week, and she has invited us to come. I think the invite is probably really for the rabbits, but they have asked me to attend as their emissary. Birds make them nervous, or so I'm told.

So what should I get the lil' Darlin' for his birthday? Any suggestions?!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!