Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:09 p.m. - 2004-07-31
Babs and Snookums
Ok, if you really dislike my endless prattle about cute rabbits, just go elsewhere, ok?

These are my new foster bunnies:

UUUUUUUUUUUUURRRRRRREEEEEEEERRRRRR!!! Aren't they insanely CUTE!!!!

It's my dream - a bonded pair of New Zealand bunnies!! They have a very distressing history. Two years ago someone found them in a box wrapped in a wool blanket next to a road. They were brought to a vet's office in Birmingham, and the vet neutered the male and tried to find a home for them.

But finding a home for two New Zealand's is hopeless. Most people want cute little bunnies, not big honkin' plain ol' white bunnies. I'm considered a real weirdo because I happen to be crazy over New Zealies.

So these two stayed at the vet's, in a tiny cage, (and they weigh at least nine pounds each) for two years.

Finally somehow the vet found out we'd take them, so the female finally got spayed and we picked them up from Linda's today.

The really sad part? They evidently didn't even have names. Bruce and I have tentatively picked out Babs for the female and Snookums for the male.

Oh, and they really didn't come with the pink and blue spots! After we got them home we realised that we absolutely couldn't tell them apart without flipping them upside down and pawing around their backsides. Since we don't know them well enough to get that familiar, some food colouring seemed in order! Babs is pink and Snookums is blue.

*****************************

And in the "Alabamans are so DARN NICE!" file - I went in to Alabama Art Supply today and as I was checking out I noticed they had these really cool "Got Art?" T shirts.

"Oh, you have those T shirts I love!" I said to the saleswoman. "I have to get one of those one of these days!"

"Do you wear a small?" She asked. I nodded.

She went to the side of the store and came back with a big smile. In her hand was a yellow T shirt, with the "Got Art?" logo on the back, and "Alabama Art Supply" on the front.

"You take this and enjoy it!" she grinned.

I couldn't believe it!! A cool new T shirt, as a gift!! A lagniappe!!

I just love Alabama Art Supply! They are such nice people, and they have a darn fine store!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!