Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:29 p.m. - 2004-07-29
More bunnies!
Warning: Glass of wine alert!! I had a whole glass of wine tonight, instead of my usual restrained half-glass during the making of dinner. Whoa! Boy Howdy! I really just cannot hold any amount of alcohol!

I guess it's a safe bet that I won't be an alcoholic any time soon.

I predict many misspelled words in this entry....

******************************************

And speaking of "whoa!!" - I seem to be having some success in my Educator-in-Training program for the House Rabbit Society!

Veritably I say to ye: Whoa!!

For a few weeks earlier this summer I took calls on our hotline. One of the calls I took was from a woman who wanted to find a new home for her bunny. She had gotten the bun from a friend and said she had to find a new home because she had allergies. She had some other excuses, too, and ultimately I felt like she just didn't want the bunny.

I gave her what advice I could over the phone, and sent her a rabbit care information packet and some leaflets about rabbits and allergies. But ultimately the call left me frustrated. I just felt I hadn't really gotten through to her, or helped her, or the bunny, in any way.

Well, sometimes I'm pleasantly wrong. Linda called me today. She said she had done a follow up call to the woman, and whaddya' know? The woman had decided to keep her bunny!!

She told Linda I had been wonderfully helpful (I was?!???!), and the information on allergies I sent made her realise that she was allergic to the rabbit's hay, not the rabbit! She was in the process of trying to litter train the bunny, whom Linda said she described as "a wonderful animal".

Whoa again!! Is this the same woman who was asking me about shelters to take the bun to?!!

I guess the lesson here is that I shouldn't write off these people who I think aren't listening. Maybe they just need some time for stuff to sink in, or they need to read some literature or something.

And my other big contribution this week is that a letter I wrote on behalf of the society was in the paper today. If you want to go see it, it's at this page here. You'll have to give them your zip code and year of birth to get to the letters page, and then scroll down till you get to "Opposes Rabbit Meat Industry".

The letter isn't signed by me. But I wrote it!

I've written several letters for the group, and I actually like the fact that none of them are actually signed by me. I know this sounds strange, but it reminds me of the Wizard of Oz. You know, when Dorothy and all of them get to the wizard, and they think he's this big shouting head floating in the air, but really he's this little man behind a curtain?

Well, I feel like the little man behind the curtain!! I write these letters that go out on behalf of this organization, and because they have the name of the organization on them, they become larger than life. far larger than if it was just little old me behind them.

You know, I'm really liking this educator business.

**************************************

There is a "down side" though. Heh, heh, heh. Some "down side" - we've been asked to take in a couple more foster bunnies. The Birmingham Shelter is so full that they were going to euthanize five that they had - so Linda called me in a panic.

Bruce says we can take two. Since I'm already hopelessly attached to Feisty and Napkin I guess this means we'll ultimately wind up with six bunnies here.

There goes the spare bedroom!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!