Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:07 p.m. - 2004-07-26
Buttons
Tonight Bruce and I were in the parking lot of the library. We were sitting in the car waiting for the car next to us to pull out. Instead of going first, the woman driving waved for us to pull out instead. I waved back to her to say thank you.

And to my delight, the little girl sitting in the back seat waved,too. And then she mouthed "I like your pretty hair!"

So I mouthed "Thank you!" And we gave eachother these big smiles.

It was one of those lovely moments when you connect with someone just for a second, and it makes your whole day seem sunny.

I really needed that, today of all days. I started therapy this morning. Bruce discovered that that UAH has a program for faculty and their spouses to see a therapist free of charge, so I am taking advantage.

I've had a low level (and at times not so low level) artist's block for years now, and I know exactly why I have it. I just don't know what to do about it. And there are some other little demons sitting in my lap these days, too, that I would like to evict. So - to the therapist it is!!

I'm actually amazed I went to the appointment this morning and didn't just chicken out.

***************************

I'm in the midst of cleaning my studio for this Day of the Dead show. I'm doing papier mache skeletons and I need to clear out a ton of junk so I can throw gluey newspaper around without destrying all my embroidery thread.

It's going slowly. My studio is like a tar baby. One minute I'm innocently rearranging realms of paper, and the next minute I have thousands of buttons strewn all over the table and I'm sorting them out by size.

I think I have some avoidance issues, along the lines of "I just can't possibly start these papier mache thingeys until I've sorted out these 40 kazillion buttons, which will take me at least three days."


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!