Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:37 p.m. - 2004-07-18
Cahaba Canoe trip
Did you know there are these turtles called "cooters" who attract mates with their long toenails? Yup, the males have these long, loooong toenails that they wave in front of the females when they're looking to party.

They're quite impressive.

I went on a canoe trip down the Cahaba River with Bruce and Rachel and some other folks yesterday, and I got to see a couple of these wonderful turtles. They're fairly large, and have algae growing all over their backs. They look like slowly moving mats of gook.

And another weird thing - the Cahaba has red sand! Forget the white sand of the Gulf, or the beige sand of New England. This sand was the colour of cayenne pepper. Wild!

I also got to experience being in a canoe on a river in the middle of a tremendous rainstorm, and I'll tell ya', it was the most fantastic experience. There's nothing like being soaking wet in your clothes in a canoe on a river. It's a waterbaby's dream!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!