Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:20 p.m. - 2004-07-15
Birmingham
My life is a big happy life. A bit too busy, but big and happy.

When I get too busy, I get overwhelmed about writing in this journal. Too much to say, and my tired little brain is too disorganised to say it.

So here it is, in all it's disorganised little beauty: the bits and pieces of the last few days.

1. Having your car die is not fun. However, when it does you the courtesy of waiting to die until you get to a place you want to be for awhile, it's marginally tolerable. My car died in front of the gallery, when I had to be there the whole afternoon anyway.

2. And I was planning to spend the night at Wendy's so it's not like I had to be all in a rush to get it fixed in order to get home.

3. Wendy's husband Michael is my hero of the week! He's got jumper cables, and he knows how to use them!

4. And Wendy is my heroine of the week, for tracking down a lovely car mechanic for me despite being up to her brains in work getting ready for the jewelry show!!

5. And the lovely car mechanic is my superhero of the week!! Not only did he fix my problem the next day, despite being swamped with work, he hardly charged me anything! "Because you're from out-of-town, and we're feeling kindly." Mr. Car Repairman, you are AWESOME!!!!

6. I discovered that my shopaholic tendencies are not under control. When surrounded with a gallery full of insanely fabulous jewelry, it's all I can do not to cave.

7. I mean, enameled cat pins? I need ten of these.

8. Did you know there is a "gemstone" called Fordite? I kid you not, it is made from the paint scrapings from the floor of an old Ford factory. The layers and layers of paint are pulled up and compressed into a "stone". And it's freakin' wonderful!! It has layers and layers of different colours. All the colours they painted old Fords in!! Fordite! Check it out!!

9. Unfortunately, the ring made with Fordite didn't fit me. Or I would have caved. Totally caved.

10. God, I love pizza.

11. I love Fanta Strawberry soda, too.

12. Wendy took me to see one of the gallery's artists, whose studio is in an old building that used to be a brothel. It was so amazing and wonderful. I would probably give my right big toe to have a studio there!

13. Wendy and Michael have the most wonderful soft guestroom bed. And it's very nice to lay there and listen to distant thunder while falling asleep.

14. I miss Bruce when I'm away from him overnight. I spend large amounts of mental energy trying to send him pyschic communications.

15. Wendy's cats, Jack and Henry, are like bookends. They are exactly the same body shape but different colours. I love those cats. Meow, meow.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!