Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:14 p.m. - 2004-06-25
Lotsa' Pictures
I just spent four entire days working in the garden.

I've been neglecting the garden terribly for the last couple of months, and it has shown its pain by becoming an unruly mess. Of course, my plant placement wasn't so hot either. In general it just isn't a good idea to put a bunch of really tall plants, like Rudbeckia, in front of a bunch of very short plants, like basil.

It's an especially a bad idea when you never get around to staking those tall plants so that they eventually fall over onto the short plants. It definately cramps the short plants style.

The weeds were running rampant as well. So I spent endless hours digging and rearranging and hauling compost and pulling out weeds. And you know what? I feel great. I feel completely at peace with the world.

This kind of marathon extreme gardening session is cathartic. There's nothing like it!! Not only is it physical, it's mental as well. When I'll wrenching out all those weeds I'm thinking about all the people who've "done me wrong" and I'm mentally giving their noses a twist.

Weirdly, the noses in question usually belong to old schoolteachers I had years ago. Mrs. Crouch, for example, who was my second grade teacher. Her nickname was, predictably, Mrs. Grouch, and she seemed to revel in her crankiness.

She also hated me, probably because of an incident involving a note she wrote to my mother about my atrocious handwriting. When my mother read the note, she said something to the effect of "Jesus Christ! Tell her all the doctors I know have terrible handwriting and it doesn't seem to bother them! And besides, you can't help it, you inherited it from your father!"

The next day Mrs. Crouch asked me what my mother had said about the note.

So I told her. The results were predictable.

So every once in awhile I get into this mental nose twisting thing about Mrs. Crouch. But you know what? After four days of wheelbarrowing around loads of decomposed bunny poop, I no longer think Mrs. Crouch was an ambassador from the Evil Empire. I think she was just a cranky old lady who didn't like kids.

Maybe I should do these gardening marathons more often. I might actually become a pleasant sort of person!

********************************************

And now for something that will upset the he-men of the world. It's a man, holding a bunny.

That's right, folks! REAL MEN HOLD BUNNIES!!!

I look at this picture several times a day!! I really love it!

And you know what? Real women hold bunnies, too! This is me and Napkin:

Let's just continue on with this picture things, shall we? I just love our new digital camera!!

This little guy grew up in a nest in the planter outside our front door. Every time I went out, he would beg me for food:

Did you all get sick of hearing me whine about the Hospital Art Piece? (Which by the way, I just got a check for!! So Bruce and I actually have money in our savings account again!! And I bought Bruce a couple of new shirts!! So he doesn't look like a stew bum!! Hooray!!) Well, here it is:

Much ado about nothing?

Last I heard, it was probably going to be placed in the hospital's labor and Delivery ward. How appropriate, considering how much pain I went through trying to finish it!!

On the way back from last week's South Carolina trip we stopped at the Little River. Here's Bruce, sitting on the edge:

And here's what he's sitting on the edge of:

It was beautiful. I wish I had my swim suit with me.

Bruce's conference was at the Riverside Zoo in Columbia, S.C. I got to go throught the zoo for free while he was in meetings, and also go to the Botanical Gardens, which were just across the river via a footbridge. I'm not usually a fan of zoos, in fact, on general principle I kind of hate them. But this zoo made me change my feelings a bit. It has relatively few animals, they are all well cared for, and all the caretakers I talked to seemed wildly enthusiastic about their jobs.

And the grounds are stunning. So well planted! bruce had the camera that day, so sadly I have no photos. However, I did catch one of my favorite animals at the end of the day.

Here's the deal - look at the following two photos and see if you don't think these two were separated at birth!!

Here's the Meerkat:

And here's Zesto:

Mere cat or Meerkat??!!! You be the judge!!

What's this?!! Oh my Gawd!! He's not a cat!! He's a SPACE ALIEN!!!!!! AHHHHHHHH!!!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!